Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: ussr opening setup discrepancy? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bill Meyers
United States
West Hills
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
i'm guessing no one has caught this one yet. the rules section 3.2 states that the ussr sets up in europe with 3 in east germany & 1 in finland; then adds 6 additional markers anywhere in east europe.

the example of play on page 10 shows something different. in opening setup it has the ussr adding the 6 additional markers as:
3 in poland
1 added to east germany
1 in hungary &
1 in finland -(note this)
then states that the ussr starts with only 3 influence in east germany.
that would mean finland is NOT automatic & if placed, is counted as a discretionary placement.

i would love for jason or ananda to give the final word to us all on this.....
with the concerns about imbalance toward the ussr, this one influence at the game's beginning could make a difference.

thanks for the help-
i love the game!
bill meyers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The picture that appears directly below the Opening Setup paragraph shows 4 influence in East Germany.

The note above that is refering to the 3 that are always part of the setup, not the total after the USSR adds his discretionary 6.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Matthews
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As is usual, Allen has this correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Meyers
United States
West Hills
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
ok guys........
on page 10 i also see the extra influence in east germany & noted it; but if you total up the points in europe after this it totals 9 (don't count syria). shouldn't it total 10 influence- 3 in east germany & 1 in finland for 4; & then 6 additional?

the larger question here is not the typo (finland is a discretionary add), but does the ussr setup include 1 in finland (with 3 in e ger) at the start for a total of 4 with then 6 addtional or not? is the rule in 3.2 correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Missed your Finland comment. You seem to be correct, that there should be 1 more influence pictured on page 10. By the text, there should be 2 in Finland.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Meyers
United States
West Hills
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
thanks, alan.
could it be that ussr does not get finland automatically in setup? every influence point matters.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
More likely a misprint in the example.

Old wargaming habit, from many years of experience: The rule are more likely to be right than the Example of Play.

In the TS example, there are a number of other small errors.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.