Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

King of Tokyo: Power Up!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monkey Rush rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kjetil Svendsen
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
badge
My Secret Santa is the best!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Discard this Evolution when another Monster takes control of Tokyo. You take control of it instead.

Does the other monster get 1 VP for taking Tokyo, or is this interrupted by The King's ability?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Boyll
United States
Kuna
Idaho
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LordHellfury wrote:
Chetil wrote:
Discard this Evolution when another Monster takes control of Tokyo. You take control of it instead.

Does the other monster get 1 VP for taking Tokyo, or is this interrupted by The King's ability?


You get VP for taking Tokyo, but since the King takes control of it instead with the card, then the person who was about to take Tokyo does not take Tokyo. Thus does not get the VP.

[edit] emphasis added to the qualifying statement of the card, which is "instead".[/edit]

I disagree and would say that both players get 1 VP.
The wording says "when another monster takes control"
If it was meant to prevent the player from getting the VP it would be worded something like "when another monster would take control"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have to go with hellfury, it cleary says instead. instead means in place of, meaning they never went in.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Brissaud
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chetil wrote:
Discard this Evolution when another Monster takes control of Tokyo. You take control of it instead.

Does the other monster get 1 VP for taking Tokyo, or is this interrupted by The King's ability?


No, the other monster does not get 1 VP since he is no longer taking Tokyo.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.