Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
22 Posts

King of Tokyo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Using keep card effects multiple times? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you the abilties of keep cards multiple times?

For example "spend X energy to get an extra reroll" or "if you have 1 1 1, you gain extra 2 VPs"

In the latter if you had six 1s, would you get extra 4 VP's in total?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tootsie Roll
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
I came. I saw.
badge
I lost miserably.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It really depends on the card. One allows you to reroll all 3's, which can be done multiple times. Others can only be done once per turn at the time of scoring.

In the example you gave, six 1's scores differently than 3. You get one point for three 1's but four points for six 1's. You don't score the two sets of 1's separately. At least we never have. In the end it doesn't matter in the example you gave because you would get 6 points either way.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris G
Canada
Kitchener
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The cards says if you have 3 1's you can 2 vp's. Even if you have 6 1's you still only get 2 extra VP's you can't use the card twice.
3 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
no rules says you can't use a card twice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan King (The Game Boy Geek)
United States
Gilbert
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For "Keep" cards you keep them for the entire game unless a card specifically tells you otherwise.

One tricky one we ran into was the "It had a child" card. As it states once you get to 0 health you must lose all your points, and cards, and start over. That includes the "It has a child" card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bally Man
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Yeh I've struggled with the card where you can spend energy to get extra rerolls.

We played that you could spend as many as you liked for extra rerolls but while I was rerolling away my group just stared at me thinking that my card was overpowered...

Anyone's help would be greatly appreciated
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SeerMagic wrote:
no rules says you can't use a card twice.


in fact a few say "once per turn" thus proving you can use a card as many times as you want.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Der Einsielder
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RoadHouse wrote:
Can you the abilties of keep cards multiple times?

For example "spend X energy to get an extra reroll" or "if you have 1 1 1, you gain extra 2 VPs"

In the latter if you had six 1s, would you get extra 4 VP's in total?


Yes you can use a card multiple times if

- the action on the card allows this in principle
- the text on the card does not say anything else

Examples:
- Background dweller
- stretchy, rapid healing, telepathy. From FAQ: Triggered cards (stretchy, rapid healing, telepathy): as long as you can pay the cost and there is not the "once per turn" limitation, you can activate the card.
- "You can buy a new card first" card, "buy card form others" card, "Made in a Lab" card

Exclusion:
From FAQ - Omnivore: only applies once per turn, 112233 doesn't give 4 VP.


Keep in mind - one dice can only resolved once!

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Sampson
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is a little off topic, but just so we are all clear, you guys do know you score bonus points for having more than three of a number right? So even without the card, having six 1's is worth 4 points. Having the card would then score you 6 points (it is only applied once).

Edit: I see Nate pointed this out, but he didn't seem to sure about it so it is worth repeating as it is an easy to miss rule.
2 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthieu BONIN
France
Villeurbanne
flag msg tools
publisher
I no longer work for IELLO.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RoadHouse wrote:
For example "spend X energy to get an extra reroll" or "if you have 1 1 1, you gain extra 2 VPs"

In the latter if you had six 1s, would you get extra 4 VP's in total?
The card reads "if you have 111", not "for each 111 you have". No matter how many 1's you rolled: if you have (at least) 3, you score 2 extra VP. Nothing indicates you can win more in any conditions.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Brissaud
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RoadHouse wrote:
Can you the abilties of keep cards multiple times?

For example "spend X energy to get an extra reroll" or "if you have 1 1 1, you gain extra 2 VPs"

In the latter if you had six 1s, would you get extra 4 VP's in total?


Official answer from Richard Garfield:
Quote:
Yes - unless otherwise said you can use the abilities multiple times.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ross W
United States
Studio City
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mattintheweb wrote:
RoadHouse wrote:
For example "spend X energy to get an extra reroll" or "if you have 1 1 1, you gain extra 2 VPs"

In the latter if you had six 1s, would you get extra 4 VP's in total?
The card reads "if you have 111", not "for each 111 you have". No matter how many 1's you rolled: if you have (at least) 3, you score 2 extra VP. Nothing indicates you can win more in any conditions.



IelloGames wrote:
RoadHouse wrote:
Can you the abilties of keep cards multiple times?

For example "spend X energy to get an extra reroll" or "if you have 1 1 1, you gain extra 2 VPs"

In the latter if you had six 1s, would you get extra 4 VP's in total?


Official answer from Richard Garfield:
Quote:
Yes - unless otherwise said you can use the abilities multiple times.



Sorry for being dense, but it looks like we have 2 Officialish answers that seem contradictory to me. so which is it? does 111 111 count as 2 VP or 4 VP with that card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Sampson
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zortag wrote:
Sorry for being dense, but it looks like we have 2 Officialish answers that seem contradictory to me. so which is it? does 111 111 count as 2 VP or 4 VP with that card?
It seems like Garfield is answering the first question due to his wording so I don't think it is contradictory.

Also I think most native English speakers would agree that "if you have 1,1,1" is not a something is applied more than once as it is a binary logic statement: IF CONDITION -> SOMETHING You either meet the condition or you don't.

In fact most of this thread beyond the OP has been a discussion about the other example "spend X energy" and the answer given addresses that.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Fein
United States
Mahomet
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
Zortag wrote:
Mattintheweb wrote:
RoadHouse wrote:
For example "spend X energy to get an extra reroll" or "if you have 1 1 1, you gain extra 2 VPs"

In the latter if you had six 1s, would you get extra 4 VP's in total?
The card reads "if you have 111", not "for each 111 you have". No matter how many 1's you rolled: if you have (at least) 3, you score 2 extra VP. Nothing indicates you can win more in any conditions.



IelloGames wrote:
RoadHouse wrote:
Can you the abilties of keep cards multiple times?

For example "spend X energy to get an extra reroll" or "if you have 1 1 1, you gain extra 2 VPs"

In the latter if you had six 1s, would you get extra 4 VP's in total?


Official answer from Richard Garfield:
Quote:
Yes - unless otherwise said you can use the abilities multiple times.



Sorry for being dense, but it looks like we have 2 Officialish answers that seem contradictory to me. so which is it? does 111 111 count as 2 VP or 4 VP with that card?


I read that official answer as 111 is worth 3VP with the card. However, the rules are clear that for each extra role of the same number you get 1 extra VP. So without the card... 111 111 is worth 4VP. With the card 111 111 would be worth 6VP.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Zortag wrote:
Sorry for being dense, but it looks like we have 2 Officialish answers that seem contradictory to me. so which is it? does 111 111 count as 2 VP or 4 VP with that card?


Quote:
Official answer from Richard Garfield:
Quote:
Yes - unless otherwise said you can use the abilities multiple times.


Sounds to be about as official as it gets.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Post
United States
Covington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So the question here is, is it worth 6 VP by using the power twice on separate 1 point trios, or 6 VP for using the power once and having 4 points from the 6 1's you already rolled.

Answer: Who the fuck cares it is 6 victory points either way!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Tolin
United States
Beaumont
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
djfein wrote:


I read that official answer as 111 is worth 3VP with the card. However, the rules are clear that for each extra role of the same number you get 1 extra VP. So without the card... 111 111 is worth 4VP. With the card 111 111 would be worth 6VP.


Well, now I have a question. We played for the first time last night, and we interpreted the "for each extra roll of the same number" differently than you have. If you roll 111 111, I'd say that's three extra rolls of the same number. So, 1 point for the triplet, plus 1 point for each additional 1.

1+1+1+1 = 4 points. Without the card bonus. Am I wrong?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DavidT wrote:
1+1+1+1 = 4 points. Without the card bonus. Am I wrong?


That is what he was saying, so you are both correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Tolin
United States
Beaumont
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
a1bert wrote:
DavidT wrote:
1+1+1+1 = 4 points. Without the card bonus. Am I wrong?


That is what he was saying, so you are both correct.


Oh, good lord. My reading comprehension is poor this morning. blush

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike S.
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hmm... rolling 111 = 1 VP
rolling 1111 = 2 VP
rolling 11111 = 3 VP
rolling 111111 = 4 VP

And then the card is being added .... and all the begins ....

Is it 111 = 2 VP additional ? (Making it a total of 6 VP)
Or is it 111 111 = 4 VP additional ? (Making it a total of 8 VP)

So what's it gonna be ? According to Mr. Garfield it should be 8 VP, or not ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Sampson
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Player77 wrote:
hmm... rolling 111 = 1 VP
rolling 1111 = 2 VP
rolling 11111 = 3 VP
rolling 111111 = 4 VP

And then the card is being added .... and all the begins ....

Is it 111 = 2 VP additional ? (Making it a total of 6 VP)
Or is it 111 111 = 4 VP additional ? (Making it a total of 8 VP)

So what's it gonna be ? According to Mr. Garfield it should be 8 VP, or not ?
Garfield never said 8; that response was regarding the original post as a whole about whether cards could be used multiple times. The answer is still 6.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you could use it multiple times it would 12VP for 111 111, anyway, not 8...

whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.