Quote taken from this file:
* My opponent is on a "mountain" card, with the next two cards being "forest,"
"forest." On my turn, I place Odin's Marker on my opponent's *2nd* forest
card. What happens next?
-=> Rio Grande: A "forest" card or two wild cards (joker) would move my
opponent to the first "forest" card only, then he would have to play
an additional two forest cards or a wild card combination to get past
the Odin's Marker roadblock.
- Unofficial variant: One interpretation is that alike land cards next to each
other should be treated as a single space. The Odin Marker is placed on the
last card (or moved to the last card in the string if subsequent cards change).
Movement is treated as if they were all one space (except in the case of the
Odin card that allows a raven to move one space forward or backward - it is
clear this applies to one card only). In your example, a forest card or two
wild cards would do nothing. You would need two forest cards (or wild card
combination) to remove the Odin Marker and move to the second forest card.
I would like to know your opinions on this rule, which variant you use. There is a big difference between the official Rio Grande explanation and the unofficial variant. I play using the so-called "unofficial variant" but I didn't know until today about the official rule from Rio Grande about this situation. To me it seems even more frustrating to play a forest card (or jokers) to move forward one space and then being able to deal with the odin marker.
Just looking for some thoughts, thanks.