Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fading Glory» Forums » General

Subject: Militia Withdraw result ("Rout" marker effects) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Lee

Georgia
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say the following:

[16.7.3.1] Combat Results: Battle outcomes affect Militia units
differently:

* When a Militia unit suffers a Withdraw result, place a Routed marker on it. Note that this is not an actual ‘Rout’ and so no Morale loss is incurred. Militia units require more time to regain their cohesion.

What does this mean? No morale loss to the militia unit? Then why is there a marker put on it? WHAT ARE THE EFFECTS OF PLACING THE MARKER?

Is the unit prohibited from doing anything but retreating (moving toward a LOC) until it rallies? Does it even have to rally? I don't get this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A unit with a Routed marker has no ZOC, is half strength, and when it moves must follow all Retreat restrictions. All this is printed on the Routed marker as well as in the rules.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What Scott said: the unit suffers all the normal effects of having the rout marker placed on it (as explained in rule [9.6.3]). A routed unit:

= can only move in such a way as to continue retreating (i.e. towards a friendly LOC, per rule [9.8]).
= loses its ZOC
= has its combat strength halved (however, since the militia units in Borodino/Smolensk 20 only have strengths of 1, and you round freactions up, this doesn't really have an effect -- note, however, that in other games in the series there may be "militia"-like units with combat strengths that are higher than 1)
= you can't spend morale to "commit reserves" to a battle involving only routed units
= can't advance after combat

With regards to removing rout markers, rallying has nothing to do with that; rallying pertains to returning Broken units to play (see rule [10.0]). Removing a routed marker is called "Recovery" and happens automatically (see rule [9.6.3]). Basically, you remove the rout marker at the end of the player turn corresponding to the rout marker's color (so all blue rout markers come off at the end of the French player's turn, and all white route are removed at the end of the anti-French player's turn).

Hope that clears up any confusion.

Lance McMillan
Developer for VPG's "Napoleonic 20" series
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Lee

Georgia
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, thanks. What was confusing was the sentence "this is not an actual ‘Rout’ and so no Morale loss is incurred." If it's not an actual rout, I figured there were no rout effects. Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Oppenheimer
United States
California
flag msg tools
GA Jim wrote:
"this is not an actual ‘Rout’ and so no Morale loss is incurred."


This means the Russian Morale level does not go down by one when the Militia unit suffers a Withdraw result.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What Joe said -- the rout "effects" apply in full, but since the unit isn't retreating (beyond the one hex mandated by the Withdrawal result) there's no morale loss involved. Remember, for you to lose Morale, the retreat has to be FURTHER than the unit's Movement Allowance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.