Subject: Determination Clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Simon Andrews
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to the game so please forgive my ignorance on what is probably a very simple matter. I know the card says to DISCARD a Pilot critical hit, but this doesn't make sense in my head. Surely it would make more sense to flip the card face down but still take the standard damage.

Why would a pilot's determination prevent the ship from taking any damage on a critical?

So, what I'm really asking is: Is this ability supposed to be played exactly as it says on the card?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Krüger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
SalieriUK wrote:

So, what I'm really asking is: Is this ability supposed to be played exactly as it says on the card?

Yes. The damage is minor to the ship, but the pilot is wounded. Your pilot is so determined that he just ignores the injury and is not affected at all.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Andrews
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, thanks a lot for the help. It still seems a bit weird to me, but hey - this is a game, right?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
mbmbmbmbmb
But if you read the pilot crit cards, they are damage to the pilot, not the ship. If I shoot a laser through the side of your cockpit, your ship is fine, but your heads gone and you're probably out of the game by then.

But if you take this card, you're just really good at ducking!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Andrews
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But any critical damage card counts as 1 (or more) hull damage, so the ship is still normally damaged by a pilot critical when not using Determination.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge