Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Alien Frontiers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Partially using the Teraforming Station? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Lucas
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
The Terraforming Station rules say in part, "You must dock one ship with a value of 6 and pay one fuel and one ore to *USE* [emphasis added] the Terraforming Station."

Can you dock a ship there and *neither* use nor pay for it just to block another player from using it? (I'd still expect that you'd lose your ship at the beginning of your next turn.)

You might want to do this to prevent a player from ending the game on his turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
"Music That Glows In The Dark"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No paying the resources is part of the requirements, otherwise you can't dock there.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fernando Robert Yu
Philippines
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LunarSoundDesign wrote:
No paying the resources is part of the requirements, otherwise you can't dock there.


Correct...From page 7 of the rulebook, first sentence under ORBITAL FACILITIES:

Surrounding the planet are the orbital facilities you will use to earn resources, expand your fleet, and land colonies. You may not dock ships at an orbital facility unless docking ports are available and you can meet both the ship and cost requirements.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J J
Australia
flag msg tools
freddieyu wrote:
LunarSoundDesign wrote:
No paying the resources is part of the requirements, otherwise you can't dock there.


Correct...From page 7 of the rulebook, first sentence under ORBITAL FACILITIES:

Surrounding the planet are the orbital facilities you will use to earn resources, expand your fleet, and land colonies. You may not dock ships at an orbital facility unless docking ports are available and you can meet both the ship and cost requirements.


And for the rules lawyers out there that see the hole here, the designer has explicitly stated that you can't just squat there, you have to use it.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Hurd
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JasonJ0 wrote:
And for the rules lawyers out there that see the hole here, the designer has explicitly stated that you can't just squat there, you have to use it.

Sorry to necro this old thread but I figured it better than starting a new one. I've done a ton of searching the threads already with no luck.

Can someone point to the thread(s) in which the designer or publisher have made this clarification? I have to ask in order to appease the rules lawyer we have in our group.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max
United States
Fuquay Varina
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Reign of Fire
badge
Bombs Away! Mission 9.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Using orbital market, shipyard and colony constructor if you can't pay
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Hurd
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
xgamerms999 wrote:

Excellent. Thank you!

So while the rules text doesn't really support it, this official clarification is sufficient to understand the intent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.