Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
79 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Everything Else » Religion, Sex, and Politics

Subject: "Convince me that Jews are evil!" teacher assignment. Creative or too far? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Trey Chambers
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/04/12/us-usa-newyork-naz...

As an English teacher, I would never give such an assignment. But mostly because of the hell I would catch over it, like this teacher did. As long as the teacher put it in the proper context, I have no problem with the assignment. It was an exercise in persuasion and empathy. I think it's interesting and useful to force yourself to see the world through the eyes of people who we vilify and who are difficult for us to understand.

Nazis have basically become caricatures in our culture (as have Jews during the Holocaust). I see the value in learning that these Nazis were actual people who bought into a big lie. I think it makes us LESS doomed to repeat history than just pretending they were some enigmatic, ultimate evil force and human beings could NEVER do something like that again.

I'm interested in hearing both sides though.

Poll: What did you think of the assignment?
Was it a creative assignment that allowed students to empathize with human beings they've largely been taught to characterize and simplify or was it insensitive and offensive to Holocaust survivors?
It was creative
It was offensive
      64 answers
Poll created by Shampoo4you

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Cates
United States
Visalia
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Too far for high school. Maybe a upper division university philosophy class with a response.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelsey Rinella
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools