Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Fading Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cavalry Penetration rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hexmagazine Accursed Games
Poland
Warszawa/Wellington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is Cavalry Penetration one hex move? "Your Cavalry unit must begin
its Reaction Phase adjacent to an enemy unit. It can then move
into another hex that is also adjacent to an enemy unit"
What about situation mentioned enemy units are for example 3 hexes apart?devil
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say only one hex.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hexmagazine Accursed Games
Poland
Warszawa/Wellington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, me too, but it is not strictly described, and Waterloo II could happend during my yesterday play I can't risk in the future and have to be sure now
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
The Herbie Nichols Project - Dr. Cyclops' Dream
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kloszardzik wrote:
Hi, me too, but it is not strictly described, and Waterloo II could happend during my yesterday play I can't risk in the future and have to be sure now

But it is strictly described; you're moving from hex a to hex b.

What you're suggesting is that you might move from a hex next to an enemy unit, then to a hex not adjacent to any units, and finally to a hex adjacent to another unit, which is simply not reasonable. If you can just make stuff up in between the two adjacent hexes, why stop at one non-adjacent hex? Maybe you could move 30 hexes and move over the top of some other units along the way.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Curtiss
United States
Dothan
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cavalry penetration is a one hex move.

The Cavalry Penetration optional rules have a designer's note where it says that cavalry penetration is like cavalry disengagement but with the opposite motivation (and direction, probably, as well).

In the Cavalry Disengagement rules, the cavalry unit is specifically limited to a one hex move.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hexmagazine Accursed Games
Poland
Warszawa/Wellington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, yes, I agree Hope my friend understands it too
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cavalry penetration involves the cavalry unit moving a single hex, from one EZOC into another EZOC. It is not "movement" in the sense that the moving unit is not employing its Movement Allowance and there is no expenditure of movement points -- you simply move the unit from one hex that is in an EZOC into another adjacent hex that is in an EZOC. The EZOCs do not need to be exerted by the same enemy unit.

Lance McMillan
Developer for VPG's "Napoleonic 20" series
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hexmagazine Accursed Games
Poland
Warszawa/Wellington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, thanks. But mentioned action may be done in one enemy unit ZOC?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kloszardzik wrote:
Hi, thanks. But mentioned action may be done in one enemy unit ZOC?


I'm sorry, but I don't understand the question.

For a cavalry unit to be eligible to react it must begin the Reaction phase in an enemy unit's ZOC. If this pre-condition is met, then the cavalry unit has the option of doing one of three (four, if you are using the optional "Penetration" rule) things. The cavalry unit may either:

(A) Disengage -- move one hex such that it ends its one hex move not in an enemy ZOC.

(B) Countercharge -- selectively attack one (and only one) enemy unit which is already in the cavalry unit's ZOC (if the unit you're attacking is infantry, then you get to double the cavalry unit's Combat Strength).

(C) Do nothing

(D) Penetrate -- move one hex, exiting one enemy controlled hex to move into another hex with an enemy ZOC.

Whether an individual cavalry unit can react or not is judged on a unit by unit basis. This means that, in theory, every one of your cavalry units could be eligible to react, providing each of them started the Reaction phase in an enemy ZOC.

Hope this clarifies things.

Lance McMillan
Developer for VPG's "Napoleonic 20" series
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom moughan
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
badge
ahh....I love the smell of a stack of sketchily placed animals in the morning!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kloszardzik wrote:
Hi, thanks. But mentioned action may be done in one enemy unit ZOC?


yes, the ZOC can be of the same enemy unit or another unit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lengthtoavoid wrote:
Kloszardzik wrote:
...mentioned action may be done in one enemy unit ZOC?


yes, the ZOC can be of the same enemy unit or another unit.


Ah, okay -- now I understand!

Yes, Tom is correct -- your cavalry unit may penetrate from the ZOC of an enemy unit into another of that same enemy unit's ZOC. Penetration does not have to be between two different enemy units.

Thanks for the backstop, Tom!

Lance McMillan
Developer for VPG's "Napoleonic 20" series
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.