Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

World in Flames» Forums » Rules

Subject: convoys rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jerry adamsson
Sweden
Karlshamn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello !

is a convoy a NAVAL UNIT ?
And if so, i guess it is completely legal, to have it included in a task force ?

The meaning with tis is to save naval moves , i wan´t to go to the
0-section in a seabox with a convoy and escort.

/jerry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rober Khan
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yes, of course it is, what else ?

You,re right: any number of naval units, including convoy points, that start the movement together, sail together and stop at the same place, be it a port or a sea box section, consume only one naval move if it's controlling major power is active and is not Vichy France. Vichy France has odd rules.

Moreover, if playing with Ships in Flames, two convoy points are a naval unit for most purposes. So, moving two convoy points together is still only one naval move, even for neutral major powers.

Be careful with SUBs, though, as their rules a a bit different: any number of SUBs sailing from the same port count as a single naval move, even if they go to different sea areas. This is what I call the Dönitz rule, as it is clearly designed to allow Germany to deploy a decent Battle of the Athlantic without loosing too much steam in it's ground campaigns.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jerry adamsson
Sweden
Karlshamn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Youré right what would it else be ?
But in the rules there are allways standing like : "convoy POINTS"
like some game markers.

But thanks again.

/jerry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberto Amestoy
Spain
Villamediana de Iregua
La Rioja
flag msg tools


I believe that the rules also said that the convoy always must go to the 0 box of a sea section.

Perhaps I am wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Jurin
United States
Great Neck
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2.3.1, Limits

Naval Unit Limits

Up to 2 naval units can stack together in a friendly controlled minor port. Every 5 convoy points is 1 naval unit.

SiF option 9: Up to 4 naval units can stack together in a minor port. Every 2 convoy points (or any spare point) is a naval unit.


So convoy points are naval units. You can always check the chart (28) to see how units are defined.

11.4.2, Moving naval units

Second last paragraph

Convoy points can only ‘patrol’ in the 0 section of the sea-box, even if they have unused movement points.

11.4.1, Definition of a naval move:

You make 1 “naval move” with surface naval units every time you:
(a) move a task force of face-up surface naval units (plus, of course, any units they are transporting) from one port, to any one destination (either to one other port or to the same section of a sea-box);



So a bunch of ships moving together, including convoy points, going to the 0 box is one naval move; if some move to the 0 box and others to other sea boxes, this constitutes multiple naval moves.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.