1 , 2  Next »   | 

Zombicide» Forums » General

Subject: Opinions on painting the models and playability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jarrett Lee
msg tools
Hi everyone,

I'm a painter far more than a gamer - and although I want to paint my Zombicide set (and have been actively painting Super Dungeon Explore + Expansions) I wanted to get some opinions on one aspect of it:

- from a painting and modeling perspective, a person would typically want to paint all these zombies with a lot of variety in colors, tones, blood vs no blood etc...

- so that was my plan...

- but then it occurred to me: this is a board game, not a tabletop wargame or hobby showcase. From a playability standpoint: do you think it would actually be smarter to paint all the zombies of a certain type *the same way, same colors*? So for example, all the runners might be wearing blue hoodies, or all the walkers wearing tan pants - that kind of thing. Then of course you get the variety from the survivors all having nicer, more unique paint jobs.

It strikes me that once a lot of zombies are on the board, it might be easier to understand the situation visually if the zombie types were distinguished in groups and it wasn't just a chaotic mass of colors?

What do you guys think?

Best regards,

Jarrett Lee
www.minijunkie.com

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Douglas
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I plan on painting the figure bases differently to distinguish types so I can still do cool paint jobs on the figures themselves and still have the game be quickly playable.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Hood
United Kingdom
Coventry
flag msg tools
badge
Microbadges by request, geekmail me for details!
mb
Orangecoke wrote:
Hi everyone,

I'm a painter far more than a gamer - and although I want to paint my Zombicide set (and have been actively painting Super Dungeon Explore + Expansions) I wanted to get some opinions on one aspect of it: