Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster spawning rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Judy Sullivan
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
I'm confused about monster spawning placement. On page 12 of the manual it shows an example of spawning spiders. It says that there is only room for the large spider so the small ones are not placed. Why can the small ones not be placed? There are empty blue spaces that are out of line of sight. Why can they not be placed there?

Judy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob "Bodhi" Wolff
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
While there *are*, indeed, empty blue spaces that are out of line-of-sight (that is what "blue" means in those diagrams, after all), the spiders themselves are rather large. The spiders require a square of space 2squaresx2squares, or 4 total spaces.

If you look, the master spider is placed in such a square.

He is surrounded by little single leftover blue squares, but there is no leftover space big enough to fit a whole spider. You could fit other figures, but not a 2x2-based figure.

The confusion may arise because of the fact that they chose to represent the non-spawned spiders as *small* crossed-out icons ... which look like they might fit in a single square, but we have to remember that they are, in reality, large-based figures.

Since there is only room to fit 1 large, 2x2-based figure, only the master is placed. After all, he is nastier than a regular spider, so you might as well spawn him over the other two.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Judy Sullivan
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Ah ha! Now I feel dumb!

Thanks for the reply!

Judy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.