Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Relic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Discarded Assets Question and Starting Life Value rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Neil Sorenson
United States
Springfield
VT: VERMONT
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Two quick questions (hopefully these haven't been asked "to death" already):

If a player decides to discard an asset, does that asset stay on the board at his current space for another player to pick up? If so, does that include relics?

Several board and card effects increase health not to exceed the "starting value" of the character but what if that character has increased his health via leveling up (such as with the Ultra Marine)? A situation can easily arise where a wounded Ultra Marine levels up and increases his health to a value that is lower than his starting health (say, from a value of 2 to 3 points) and would never benefit from the leveling increase.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Malbon
United States
Santa Cruz
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First question:
The assets are sent to the discard pile. Not left on the board.

Second question:
When the Marine or any other characters gains a life through leveling, all that happens is he gains 1 life on the wheel. Just turn the wheel once to add 1 life. This does not effect his starting amount of lives.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex F
Israel
Ashdod
Negev
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whenever a life-gaining effect is applied in this game, check if there's an addition to the wording.

If there isn't, then you can gain over your Life value.For instance at the Apothecarium in the Middle tier, there are two Life gaining effects.

The one that simply states Gain 1 Life means that you can gain over your starting value. Same with the level-up rewards.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Sorenson
United States
Springfield
VT: VERMONT
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
I find it counter-intuitive that life points gained via leveling up do not permanently raise a character's "starting" value (if that makes sense). But I suppose it would be a small logistic headache to keep track of a floating value for game purposes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Malbon
United States
Santa Cruz
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All it is, is a free life. Considering some other characters only get 2 influence when they level up, it about evens out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Sorenson
United States
Springfield
VT: VERMONT
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Roger that. Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.