Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Pacific Typhoon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can the card beneath a "Kamikaze" still fated sink another ship? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sheriff WinchesterTides
United States
California
flag msg tools
Professor Xavier convinced Katniss to leave her home at 221B Baker Street. She jumped into the Impala shouting, "Allons-y!" .....
badge
.... to take The Ring down the yellow brick road, all through the black of the 'verse, to Narnia, to save the Enterprise from the Six-fingered Slytherin Sith.
Avatar
mbmbmb
Someone played the Avenger.(fated).
Someone else played the Akagi (sinks the Avenger).
But they put the "Kamikaze" on top of the Akagi.
So then does the Akagi still fated sink the Avenger?
Or does the Kamikaze totally replace the Akagi so it cannot fated sink the Avenger?
This was a hot topic of debate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Knight
United States
Bel Air
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Great question. Yes, in a case like this, the Akagi is still fated to destroy the Avenger. The Kamikaze card replaces the combat values of its parent card, but not the fate (or victim). Furthermore, if the battle had been fought at Okinawa (where the Kamikaze itself is fated), the Kamikaze would have doubled its strength. And if the Enterprise (which is fated against the Akagi) had been played after the Kamikaze/Akagi pair, then the Akagi would have been victimized and the Kamikaze discarded because its parent was destroyed. Hope that clears it up for you and ends the debate on friendly terms. Thanks for playing the game!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sight Reader
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
violintides wrote:
But they put the "Kamikaze" on top of the Akagi.

Whoah, you can Kamikaze a ship?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Knight
United States
Bel Air
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
sightreader wrote:
violintides wrote:
But they put the "Kamikaze" on top of the Akagi.

Whoah, you can Kamikaze a ship?


The Akagi has the windscreen frame, so it is an Aircraft card (i.e., the combat values are based on its air contingent), just like the Kamikaze. Thus the Kamikaze can be used with the Akagi. I assume the person played it that way to get the Kamikaze out of his/her hand, because the Kamikaze doesn't improve the combat ability of the Akagi (unless, say, the battle was fought at Okinawa).

Thanks for all you do, sightreader, to promote and support the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sight Reader
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Ben Knight wrote:
Thanks for all you do, sightreader, to promote and support the game.


Promote the game? How? (confused)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Knight
United States
Bel Air
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
sightreader wrote:
Ben Knight wrote:
Thanks for all you do, sightreader, to promote and support the game.


Promote the game? How? (confused)


"Promote" as in introducing new players to the game and creating a summary card (which you posted in the pics)--that's what I meant.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.