Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Manuel Gracia
United States
Chapel Hill
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I really, really love this game. I recently got a hold of it and read through the manual and watched some online videos.

After a few plays on my own (I practiced with the board oriented upside down) and practicing setup at work, I went ahead and planned to play 3 sessions over a 4 day period with different people.

I wanted to share my experience with those apprehensive of the learning curve. I'm still new to the hobby (1 year-ish), so I think if I can learn it anyone can.

1st play: 3-Players
Three of us were big fans of Trajan. However one rarely plays boardgames at all, one mainly plays Agricola (by herself) and Dominion, and then there was me. Teaching took about 20 mins and our game began.

The hardest part for me to teach was just what order to introduce things. It's one of those things where explanation of one item requires explanation of another. But we picked up the rules quite easily and the mind-blowing thing was just how to combine and optimize all the actions (the super fun part). I went for priests and the +2 VP man + woman tiles and by the 6th round I was ahead by over 40 points.

However...one player unleashed endgame-bonus-points-hell (she completed 9 tasks, bought 6 jewels, built all buildings.) and beat me by 5 points. I curled up into a ball and cried.

2nd play: 3-Players
For this session I felt more confident with my teaching style. The people I played with were familiar with European games, though I was the only one that had played a Feld game.