Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Memoir '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Armor Overrun Combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Chachere
United States
San Francisco
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If an armor unit forces an enemy unit to retreat in a Close Assault, it may follow the reatreating unit (staying in contact), make another Close Assault and take ground again. Is that the gist of the Armor Overrun Combat? -a newbie
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wade Ramsey
United States
Boise
ID
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that's the "gist" of Armor's close assault and overrun capabilities.

One note, however: when you take ground, the second combat salvo must, if capable, also be a close assault. That usually, but not always, means that you're attacking the same unit a second time. However, if you overrun and find yourself deliciously adjacent to several enemy units, you may choose your target. IF there is no other close assault target, you may use armor's 3-hex range to find another victim.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrei Filip
Canada
New Westminster
BC
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Also note that if you take ground into a terrain hex that prohibits battling on the same turn you loose the second attack. I.e. if you're playing with the basic game you can overrun only on hills and open ground.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eli Smith
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry quick question but the rules seem a bit unclear. If an armor unit is attakcing an infantry unit and defates them or makes the retreat the Armor unit can move into the vacted hex and make another attack (close combat if possible).

If this attack results in a defeat or retreat, does the armor then get a third attack (or fourth, fifth, continually pushing the opposed unit back?, could this theoreticly cause the armor to move more spaces then it could normally?)

My instinct says that a second attack is all the armor gets, and that unit's action ends regardless of the outcome of the second attack..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Figgins
United States
Woodland
California
flag msg tools
badge
http://lyrislaser.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The second attack is all the armor gets, but the armor is able to Take Ground off the second attack. So an armor unit could potentially go 5 hexes across the board off one order.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eli Smith
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, that clears it up!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon Stewart
United States
Bowie
20715
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I disagree. IMHO after armor takes ground once, it cannot take ground again if the second attack is successful. Otherwise armor becomes too powerful. (5 hexes in a turn! NOOO!) - Gordon
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Ritchey
United States
Whitefish Bay
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
capt yid wrote:
I disagree. IMHO after armor takes ground once, it cannot take ground again ...


But the rules say you can at page 11: "A unit may Take Ground again after a successful Overrun Combat."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.