BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: looking to buy a really good rpg/fantasy game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
the king
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
I am new to gaming and I have been buying primarily wargames. I am starting to get sick of them and I have been thinking about picking up a more rpg/fantasy based game. Here is what I am looking for.

1. Great asthetics. I NEED MINI'S! and a nice board
2. Moderately complex- A game I consider highly complex is War of the Ring
3. Must be able to be played (and be fun) with two players
4. I realize their will be some form of battle, but I want something more than a fantasy-themed war game like War of the Ring
5. Something with fast player turn around rate, because my only playing partner hates slow turn games like A&A.
6. a game that can be played in 2-4 hours

Here are some games I have been pondering....

1. Shadows over Camelot- This is at the top of my list. I really like the idea of cooperative play, but I have heard the game lacks without at least three players.
2. Decent: Journey into the Dark
3. Quest of the Dragonlords 2006
4. World of Warcraft
5. Runbound, the newest one

If there are better games not on my list, please tell me!!!!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't forget Das Zepter von Zavandor: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/game/13884

I'm just reading the rules now. Not sure if there's any direct combat yet. There's an English printing coming soon.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesper A
Denmark
Frederikshavn
na
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Avoid World of Warcraft. It vil take at least 4 hours. My third game lasted 9 hours, and i don't feel like playing it again.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric
Canada
Gatineau
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
drakken wrote:
Here are some games I have been pondering....