Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Upgrade Action question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brandon R
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey guys, just played our first game of Eclipse last night. It was really awesome! Really dug the game, we got a few things mixed up but it was bound to happen with our first game.

Just had a quick question about the Upgrade action - it says that you "discard and take Ship Parts" - does this mean you HAVE TO discard ship parts to take new ones, or you can just move and Influence disc to the UPG spot and take new ship parts, and place them on your ship?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Speare
United States
Bedford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
tee hee, that tickles!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Discarding is optional (keeping in mind that you don't stack upgrades on top of each other, so if you are replacing one upgrade with another you will need to discard the first one).
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon R
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Hammond
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nerdsbeware wrote:
Awesome, thanks!


Discarding is also unlimited which is pretty useful with some creative ship design.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon R
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yea, so I could effectively dump as many tiles as I want, but I still would only get two (or three depending on if I am playing Mechanema)tech tiles correct?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Brechtel
United States
Cannon Falls
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Charters
United States
Chandler
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you "rearrange" when taking an upgrade action?

In other words, rather than discarding a certain tile, could I move it to a different ship's blueprint? Or, is the rule that once a tile is placed on a blueprint, it can never be moved.....only discarded?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
richcharters wrote:
Can you "rearrange" when taking an upgrade action?

In other words, rather than discarding a certain tile, could I move it to a different ship's blueprint? Or, is the rule that once a tile is placed on a blueprint, it can never be moved.....only discarded?

Never.
You still can discard and take again this part to other spot.
But it is one of two tiles you can take.
And you can't do this with parts from discoveries.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.