Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Puerto Rico» Forums » Variants

Subject: Question about Surveyor's Office rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
SURVEYOR'S OFFICE
$2
1vp
Settler
Take plantation directly from discards or supply.

Does this mean "Take an additional plantation directly from discards or supply" or "When you take your regular plantation in the Settler phase, you may select it from discarded plantations."

The former seems too strong, esp. when two players have them and force the player to the right of the settler to get no plantation whatsoever.

The latter could be o.k., but its definately not a rush-out-and-get-it building like Hacienda.

We had this come up in an in-progress game, and settled on letting it take an extra plantation, but only from discards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yehuda Berlinger
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Definitely not additional plantation. Otherwise it is just a superior version of Hacienda. It simply allows you to choose your plantation, rather than select one randomly.

Yehuda
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
I.e. it widens the scope of choices to include discards for the plantation pick you get normally in Settler. Fair enough. So its value goes up as the game goes on, and maybe on some turn there's Corn in those discards...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yehuda Berlinger
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.

Actually, I have played it several times as allowing you to pick any plantation, period, including from the supply. Sounds daft, doesn't it?

But it's really not that overpowered. A bit overpowered, but not too much. Because a) you have to buy it and man it, b) quite often you want one of the picks, anyway, if only to prevent someone else from taking it, and c) it isn't that useful after round 11 or so. That means that it nets you more useful plantation utility during the game, which is fine for a 2 cost building.

Yehuda
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.