Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Memoir '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Firefight card and artillery rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James C
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
By its terms, the Firefight card appears to apply to artillery - but conceptually that doesn't seem to make sense to me.
I've checked the card compendium and this question isn't addressed.
Any thoughts on this? May artillery receive the firefight bonus?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Curtiss
United States
Dothan
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As long as it has no enemy unit adjacent, artillery can use the firefight card and get the bonus.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James C
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Test
Thanks. That's how we played it. But the concept of an artillery unit engaging in a firefight didn't sit well with us.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Husted
United States
East Hartford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, that whole card is a bit weird if you really think about it. Units that are actually in contact...grenade and bayonet range...cannot fight, while units at a distance may. You could even shoot at an enemy unit that is in contact with a distant friendly unit, while that friendly unit could not fight. It's just the "fog of war" for the game. The artillery can shoot during a "firefight". (Perhaps the card should have been named "Overwatch" instead of "Firefight".)meeple
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.