Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

The Battle of Red Cliffs» Forums » Rules

Subject: trips, wild(0), and peng confusion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Aguirre
United States
Beaumont
TX
flag msg tools
Avatar
We had some recent confusion with regard to the rules concerning trips, wild cards (0) in trips, and pengs.

Are the only possible trips the 3 examples listed: 000,222,BBB where B is any beauty regardless of color? So are 444, 777, etc not also sets of trips?

It seems from pg 10 that a TZQ can be used as a sub in a set of trips, but can a 0 be used to represent a number other than itself, as in 202? Or is 0 strictly a wild for making a straight, as stated on pg 9?

If a player pengs before his turn begins, is the only strategic ramification that he has stopped another player from calling peng on his turn? Does this peng set count as one of the two sets permitted under the turn limits, or can he follow with two more non-peng sets for a total of three sets in his own turn? Also, if he pengs his own turn, is he then allowed to just discard and refill, as if he took no standard set action?

Thanks to Ta-Te or whomever can clarify. Just trying to get everything right.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
coolmagma wrote:

Are the only possible trips the 3 examples listed: 000,222,BBB where B is any beauty regardless of color? So are 444, 777, etc not also sets of trips?


No. Examples are just examples, not a comprehensive list. The actual description for trips is at the top of the page:

"three cards of the same kind (also called trips)"

So your other examples (444, 777, etc) are also all trips.

Quote:

It seems from pg 10 that a TZQ can be used as a sub in a set of trips, but can a 0 be used to represent a number other than itself, as in 202? Or is 0 strictly a wild for making a straight, as stated on pg 9?


Use the rule as stated on page 9. Zero (0) can act as a wild card only when making a straight, TZQ can be a wild card for either a straight or a trips set.

Quote:

If a player pengs before his turn begins, is the only strategic ramification that he has stopped another player from calling peng on his turn?


The advantage is that you get to play a set when you otherwise might not be able to. This could mean playing up to three sets in a turn, or even getting an extra scoring card after your final turn.

Quote:

Does this peng set count as one of the two sets permitted under the turn limits, or can he follow with two more non-peng sets for a total of three sets in his own turn?


Peng does not count as one of your two sets per turn. You could get three sets in this case.

Quote:

Also, if he pengs his own turn, is he then allowed to just discard and refill, as if he took no standard set action?


Not sure I follow... but the two actions taken during your turn can be any of the following: play a set, pass, discard. So if you peng before your turn, then you could pass (or discard) twice and then just draw new cards. Does that answer your question?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.