Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: what happens to a left over remote server? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jon doedren
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens to a remote server that has 3 pieces of ice, 1 upgrade, and 1 agenda, if the the runner steals the agenda? Do the left over cards that arenow protecting the empty server go away, or can iI put an agenda or assetin the now empty slot with all the ice an upgrade still intact?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alejandro G.
United States
Hurst
Texas
flag msg tools
Sometimes you have to roll the hard six.
badge
I'm getting my men...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The server remains. You can continue advancing agendas there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Kempe-Cook
United States
BLOOMINGTON
IN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the Runner steals an agenda from a remote server, the server remains. The only way to get rid of a remote server is to somehow trash/score all the ICE protecting the server and all the cards (Upgrades, Asset/Agenda).

You may put a new Asset/Agenda into that server once a Agenda is scored or stolen from that server.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Bowker
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The remote server still exists, will all ice and upgrades installed and rezzed/unrezzed as it was at the end of the run. A remote server only ceases to exist when it no longer contains any ice, upgrades, assets or agendas.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawcomic
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
The stuff that dreams are made of...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So if a remote server becomes completely empty, it is gone, right?

I know this was discussed somewhere before, but just want to clarify.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lawcomic wrote:
So if a remote server becomes completely empty, it is gone, right?

I know this was discussed somewhere before, but just want to clarify.


That's correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Brooks
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
Lawcomic wrote:
So if a remote server becomes completely empty, it is gone, right?

I know this was discussed somewhere before, but just want to clarify.


How would you know that it ever existed? There isn't any "memory" outside of cards that last until the end of the turn. Since there is nothing there, there is no server. You can't trash an unprotected PAD Campaign, then use a Bank Job on the now empty server. (Although you can always do it the other order).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alejandro G.
United States
Hurst
Texas
flag msg tools
Sometimes you have to roll the hard six.
badge
I'm getting my men...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lawcomic wrote:
So if a remote server becomes completely empty, it is gone, right?

I know this was discussed somewhere before, but just want to clarify.


Yes, there was a discussion (Oct 2012) and it was answered.

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/871212/remote-servers-exist-...

Although I don't think it was an "official" answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawcomic
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
The stuff that dreams are made of...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's right. It wasn't actually answered there.

This is one of those weird rules areas where common sense dictates one thing, but a strict reading of the rules dictates another.

Technically a server doesn't exist until a Corp. builds it. But, there's no rule that says once emptied it no longer exists.

I assume this will show up in a FAQ at some point, as the consequences of persistent empty servers would be annoying at best.

Edited to add: In the last few posts of that prior thread, there is actually evidence that some believe an empty remote server persists, including (according to the posts) OCTGN, which is not, of course, official.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alejandro G.
United States
Hurst
Texas
flag msg tools
Sometimes you have to roll the hard six.
badge
I'm getting my men...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lawcomic wrote:
So if a remote server becomes completely empty, it is gone, right?

I know this was discussed somewhere before, but just want to clarify.


It is in the FAQ v1.1.

Page 2:

"If there are no cards installed in or protecting a remote server, then the server immediately ceases to exist."

To further expand on Frank's "BoShek" answer... the FAQ v1.1 continues...

"If a server ceases to exist during a run, the run immediately ends."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawcomic
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
The stuff that dreams are made of...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah. Ok. That was not in the prior thread. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alejandro G.
United States
Hurst
Texas
flag msg tools
Sometimes you have to roll the hard six.
badge
I'm getting my men...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anytime.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.