Race the Wind» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some questions not covered by previous post (in my understanding) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Giuseppe Salvio
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not a sailing expert and so after a first match race simulation game I have some doubts and the need to put these questions:

1) Are the start and finish lines to be intended as the downwind gate between the boat and the buoy or is the whole line not just the segment that goes across these two points?

2) Do yellow and blue tokens remain on their intersection points when a player's boat stop on them or do the player take them and remove from the board?

3) The rule of wind change that has to restore in the initial north direction in the case of a E-W die result after the point 2 of the bowline leg is not clear for me: I have to restore the north direction only if the result is W or even if the die result is E?

4)Penalty: I have understood that a boat can pay it during its normal turn so after it has finished its move the boat can spin 90degrees. Is it true? In such a case has the boat to respect always the same clock direction 90 after 90 ?

5)in the rulebook there is written that if a boat makes a move this has to be completely finished but on the same time that a player can skip his turn. Does it mean that in the case of broad reach either the player makes the complete move of two actions (movement and/or manoeuvre) or he skip completly the turn that is to say he can not make half move for example just movement or just manoeuvre?

6) Is the perimeter of the 25 intersections around the buoy to be intended as a line where the overlaps are resolved by the normal tack/leeward rules?

7) In case of a wind shadow during a 2 player match what happens if one of the two players does not have more the yellow token? Does the yellow taken remain on the board or it returns to the player if it is not more crossed?

Thanks

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Groth