Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do agenda points over 7 matter? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Oliver
United States
Pompano Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Be Excellent To Each Other
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ive seen a lot of tourney reports with people stating there scores as 8-2/5-8. I know that this is just 4 2-point agendas but does the extra point over 7 have any bearing on match score? say if someone wins as runner 8-6 then as the corp loses 5-7 is the match a tie? Just wondering.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Rampson
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It doesn't matter, since you score 10 match points for a win.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This isn't an 'over 7 mattering' thing, but it is an interesting edge case to be aware of:

Going to Time
Players play both games over the course of 65 minutes. The
second game is not started until the first game is completed.
If time is called and neither player has achieved victory in
the current game, then play continues until both players have
completed one turn. If victory has still not been achieved after
the final turn, then no one wins the game and the players
score match points based on the number of agenda points they
currently have. Players then total up their match points like
normal to see who won the match.


Look at the following matches where the second game gets called to time:

10-6
1-6

10-6
0-6

10-6
0-5

10-5
0-6


In all cases, the second player, who never won a game, wins the match prestige points!

In all of the above cases:
First game the lefthand player gets 2 PP for the win, the right hand player get 0
Second game, they each get 1 PP for the unfinished game
Match points always go to the right hand player.

So in these edge cases, the Prestige is split 3:3, as though the players tied.

Also in all cases, if the right hand player got 1 more Agenda point and finished the game, the Prestige would be 2:4.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ezio Auditore
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mb
Over 7 does not matter at all, otherwise everyone would play Noise and try to mill your whole deck into Archives then access archives. I've seen games won by 18 points because of this.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
FirstName LastName
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Koshea wrote:
Over 7 does not matter at all, otherwise everyone would play Noise and try to mill your whole deck into Archives then access archives. I've seen games won by 18 points because of this.


I do not think this is possible.

Page 18 of the core rulebook says:

Quote:
When accessing multiple cards, the Runner accesses them one
at a time in any order he likes.


Page 20 of the core rulebook says:

Quote:
If at any time a player has seven agenda points in his score area,
he immediately wins the game.


Even if there are many agendas in the Archives, the game ends immediately upon the Runner scoring the agenda that puts him over 6 agenda points. Any additional agendas in Archives which were about to be accessed are not accessed because the game has ended. So the most agenda points you could have is 9.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Frank
United States
Brooklyn
NY
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Scud-O wrote:
It doesn't matter, since you score 10 match points for a win.


Actually, I can see it mattering soon. Let's go to my favorite already-dead horse, Project Beale. It's a longshot, of course, but you could easily win with more than 10 points with it.

(Say you've scored a couple of other agendas, and you have six points, and then you get a good tagstorm going, pull a Psychographics, and end up dropping, say, a dozen or so counters on Beale. That's a six-point agenda, giving you twelve points.)

As to why it matters, if you lost the first game with four agenda points, and now your opponent has four when you score the Beale, that would be a 14-14 match point tie...but if you get to claim eleven points in your win, that's 15-14, you win the prestige.

Methinks they'll have to address this soon.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Moore
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's nothing to address as far as I understand it, though I haven't actually participated in any regionals or actual brick and mortar tournaments. Perhaps someone could clarify. I believe the winner gets 10 match points, not the points for the Agendas they score, not the higher of the two between 10 and the agendas they scored. The loser gets match points for the agendas they score.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
General Norris
Spain
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
It gives you infinite brownie points.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
FirstName LastName
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Niil945 wrote:
There's nothing to address as far as I understand it, though I haven't actually participated in any regionals or actual brick and mortar tournaments. Perhaps someone could clarify. I believe the winner gets 10 match points, not the points for the Agendas they score, not the higher of the two between 10 and the agendas they scored. The loser gets match points for the agendas they score.


Right, you get 10 for a win. Your agenda points are not counted when you win.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damian Tyree
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's why, if you have 0 points and they have 6 and you flatline them, you get 10 match points and they get 6.

Scorched Earth for the comeback!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moku Zea
msg tools
designer
mbmb
I have had at least one game where I got over 10 points of agenda at the end of the game(I had 6 points, ran achieves and got 6). I was really sad it got reduced to 10.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Pettigrew
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
MokuZ wrote:
I have had at least one game where I got over 10 points of agenda at the end of the game(I had 6 points, ran achieves and got 6). I was really sad it got reduced to 10.


You did not. You won as soon as you hit the first Agenda out of that pile.

Quote:
If at any time a player has seven agenda points in his score area, he immediately wins the game.
If R&D contains no cards and the Corporation attempts to draw a card, the Runner immediately wins the game.
If the Runner is flatlined (see “Damage” above), the Corporation wins the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver
United States
Pompano Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Be Excellent To Each Other
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for your help guys!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver
United States
Pompano Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Be Excellent To Each Other
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
This isn't an 'over 7 mattering' thing, but it is an interesting edge case to be aware of:

Going to Time
Players play both games over the course of 65 minutes. The
second game is not started until the first game is completed.
If time is called and neither player has achieved victory in
the current game, then play continues until both players have
completed one turn. If victory has still not been achieved after
the final turn, then no one wins the game and the players
score match points based on the number of agenda points they
currently have. Players then total up their match points like
normal to see who won the match.


Look at the following matches where the second game gets called to time:

10-6
1-6

10-6
0-6

10-6
0-5

10-5
0-6


In all cases, the second player, who never won a game, wins the match prestige points!

In all of the above cases:
First game the lefthand player gets 2 PP for the win, the right hand player get 0
Second game, they each get 1 PP for the unfinished game
Match points always go to the right hand player.

So in these edge cases, the Prestige is split 3:3, as though the players tied.

Also in all cases, if the right hand player got 1 more Agenda point and finished the game, the Prestige would be 2:4.


wow!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.