Kevin
United States
Van Meter
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good day. My son and I were playing recently and I lost one of my heroes (Brand, Son of Bain) by an ill timed "The Necromancer's Reach" card. shake A couple of turns later, I brought Landroval into play.

Landroval's Response states: "After a hero card is destroyed, return Landroval to his owner's hand to put that hero back into play, with 1 damage token on it. (Limit once per game.)"

Can I return Brand, Son of Bain into play, or would Landroval already need to be in play prior to losing Brand?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John R
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The text seems to indicate he needs to be in play first. Imagine the eagle snatching up a hero to save him from certain death, not the eagle giving the hero a "second life" as in a video game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vladimir Lehotai
Slovakia
Piešťany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is a response and not an action, therefore Landroval has to be in play before hero's death so he can use his ability.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin
United States
Van Meter
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That does make sense -- and it is how my son thought it should play out, as well. Thanks to you both for the quick answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.