Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: When do Corp cards go facedaown in the Archive? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jon doedren
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Is there a collated list somewhere that gives all the instances of when cards enter the Archive "face down" in some condensed form?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ingo Griebsch
Germany
Bochum
North Rhine-Westphalia
flag msg tools
Coding Architect | Husband and father | Boardgame addict | Loves Clutch as well as Tricky
badge
Coding Architect | Husband and father | Boardgame addict | Loves Clutch as well as Tricky
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They go facedown if they are layed out face down in your play area (i.e. if they are not rezzed) or if the runner makes a run on the r&d and can trash the card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Asher
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If the card was unknown to the runner, it enters archives face down.
That is:
A) discards from the corp's hand
B) unrezzed ice / assets / agendas / upgrades trashed when changing server contents
C) unrezzed ice trashed due to FAO
D) cards milled off of R&D due to Noise's ID ability or similar.

Many players either seem to forget or seem not to know in the first place that ice trashed by FAO doesn't need to be revealed. It's perhaps of subtle importance, but you don't want to give skilled players any more information than you have to.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the card currently rezzed or being accessed? If the answer is no, it goes to Archives face down.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Moore
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
manydills wrote:
Is the card currently rezzed or being accessed? If the answer is no, it goes to Archives face down.


That's a very succinct way of saying it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ezio Auditore
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mb
manydills wrote:
Is the card currently rezzed or being accessed? If the answer is no, it goes to Archives face down.



Except Operations that are played are neither of those and enter face up.

Other than that, it's pretty spot on, another way of looking at it.

Basically, If the runner knows what it is, it's face up, if he doesn't, it's face down.

Or more Specifically,

Installed Assets, Upgrades, and ICE trashed before they are rezzed go in face down.
Installed Agendas trashed to install something else before they are scored go in face down.
Cards the corp discards go in face down.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeny Reznikov
Israel
Haifa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Koshea wrote:

Installed Assets, Upgrades, and ICE trashed before they are rezzed go in face down.


That's not correct.
An unrezzed asset or upgrade trashed by the runner when accessing after a successful run, would go to the archive face up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeny Reznikov
Israel
Haifa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Koshea wrote:
manydills wrote:
Is the card currently rezzed or being accessed? If the answer is no, it goes to Archives face down.



Except Operations that are played are neither of those and enter face up.


I'd rephrase it (for simplicity) as:

Any card trashed while visible to the runner (for whatever reason), goes to the Archives face up.
Everything else goes face down.

Technically, ICE that's been exposed, but unrezzed , that's being trashed by the corp due to Forged Activation Order (or to get a discount on installing new ice), would go to Archives face down, even tough the runner know exactly what the card is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Moore
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
azuredarkness wrote:
That's not correct.
An unrezzed asset or upgrade trashed by the runner when accessing after a successful run, would go to the archive face up.


You're right. That's what I get for popping into a thread, agreeing, and popping out while working. /footinmouth
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Toltz
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
Your cat likes me more
badge
In brightest day / In blackest night / No evil shall escape my sight / Let those who worship evil's might / Beware my power--Green Lantern's light!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Koshea wrote:
Basically, If the runner knows what it is, it's face up, if he doesn't, it's face down.


This is inaccurate, as cards that the runner knows may well be trashed face down after the runner gained that knowledge.

Cards are trashed face up if they were visible to the runner at the time they were trashed. Otherwise, they're trashed face down.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.