Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Tessier
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
Hi everyone,

My name is Ryan and it's my first time posting in BGG! I love the community and have been hanging around (in a non-creepy way) for a long time.

As a lover of adventure games, my question is, what particular aspects of adventure board games inspire you to buy them? Here, I'm referring to the term "adventure games" as defined on BGG: "Adventure games often have themes of heroism, exploration, and puzzle-solving. The storyline behind such games often have fantastical elements, and involve the characters in some sort of quest." Games like Mansions of Madness and Descent fit this category.

Is it the story? Is it the mechanics of play? Is it replay-ability? Easy set up and pack up? Simple rules? A smaller number of pieces? Can you rank them in order of importance or do they all tie? Would you buy a game that has all the mechanics in place on top of a theme, but a hidden story (that is, you don't know what the story is until after you've purchased it and have begun playing)?

Interested to hear your replies.

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Dunagan
United States
Clermont
GA
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
When a good one comes out I'll let you know.

I own and enjoy MoM and Descent...but don't find either one of these an "adventure" game.

Fortune and Glory tried......shake

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Rayburn
United States
Gulfport
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Crushing the other players, seeing them driven before me, and hearing the lamentations of their women.

-Brian
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eðvarð Hilmarsson
Iceland
Reykjavik
Reykjavik
flag msg tools
Cthulhu whispers to me when I sleep......
badge
Cthulhu whispers to me when I sleep......
mbmbmbmbmb
I´m a sucker for these type of games but I realize more often now that it varies what draws me into them.