Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Flash Point: Fire Rescue – 2nd Story» Forums » Rules

Subject: Carry a ladder on a ambulanse? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joakim Schön
Sweden
Alingsås
Sverige
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have picked up a ladder on a firetruck and walked to a spot where there is a ambulanse, can you drive the ambulanse and still carry the ladder with you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garry Rice
United States
Perkasie
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say no. You can get them at the fire truck of course, but you lose them when you go inside. It would seem non-thematic to take ladders on ambulances...but this game is wide open for house rules
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garry_rice wrote:
I would say no.

I agree. It is not in the rules, but I would not allow it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I third that. IMHO, ambulances and fire trucks are separate game mechanics.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zeddy
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Following this topic of Ladders usage in 2nd Story, I am curious what limitations people apply to ladder positioning at game start.

We have always read the rule:

The Fire Engine carries four Portable Ladders that can be used to access a building’s second story. A Firefighter at the Engine may
pick-up a Portable Ladder as a 0 AP action. Portable Ladders start collapsed , must be carried to where they are to be used and
erected before they can be climbed.


as at game startup, a firefighter must start on the fire engine to acquire a ladder, then transport the ladder to the required location, whcih can be a PITA if you need a Driver Operator in one quadrant, but a ladder at the extreme opposite side of the board (c'est la vie!).

It has been on occasion tempting to start a firefighter with a collapsed ladder at the point its required (a long way from the engine), but we've never succumbed...)

I assume the former is what everyone else does? Interestingly, we've actually managed to get 3 ladders into play on Veteran, which I was pretty impressed with (normally 1 or 2 max). Also interestingly, we've often found the Rescue Specialist being used very effectively as our ladder deployment person at game start (with all those movement points).

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Carry a ladder on a ambulance?
Sounds like you got the rule right. Not all possible cases are covered in the rules (see topic of this thread), but as they are they give you some options how to employ specialists and vehicles. I also often used the Rescue Specialist at game start to get a ladder and set it up while the others try to put out some fires. Since the ladders have their own tokens, you could also use the engine to drop off ladders at parking spaces (of course, only when stopping there), though I never did that.
One or two ladders is also my average. Interestingly, it was not much different when I played with the rule I originally planned, i.e. you could "order" ladders to be set up, independent of the engine.
BTW, the basement rules of Extreme Danger offer new uses for ladders, so you may sometimes be happy to have four of them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Malley
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
PunTheHun wrote:
BTW, the basement rules of Extreme Danger offer new uses for ladders, so you may sometimes be happy to have four of them.

"Tell us more, Uncle Lutz! Tell us more!" they cried in unison.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
caffeinehead wrote:
"Tell us more, Uncle Lutz! Tell us more!"

That was just a test to see if someone was interested
Explosions in the basement can cause holes in the floor at ground floor level; you can use ladders to climb down through the hole (provided you extinguished the fire down there first). You can also use them to bridge these holes. Maybe these rules will just make it as "optional".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Malley
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like the multi-story buildings are really coming into their own. The houses are almost going to seem pedestrian after everything that Extreme Danger is adding.

As an aside, I do allow firefighters to start with a ladder when playing Family.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luther Hendricks
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't understand. If there's nothing in the rules saying you drop a ladder when you drive the ambulance, why can't you take the ladder with you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zeddy
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Drab Emordnilap wrote:
I don't understand. If there's nothing in the rules saying you drop a ladder when you drive the ambulance, why can't you take the ladder with you?


Hence why this topic was raised.

You are correct, there is nothing explicitly in the rules preventing you from using the ambulance in this way, but then, there is also nothing explicitly in the rules preventing you putting all six fireman in the ambulance either, carrying 4 ladders, and moving the whole circus in one hit........ But is that realistic / something you actually allow in game?

The discussion in this thread is how people handle this undefined mechanic in their own games, and the majority opinion is that they don't allow it. That however does not prevent you doing so yourself.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Drab Emordnilap wrote:
If there's nothing in the rules saying you drop a ladder when you drive the ambulance, why can't you take the ladder with you?

Generally, I say you would be right- if it is not forbidden, you can do it. In this case, however, a reality check says you can't (and I as the author would support that view). So you can either play by strict rules and allow it, or you can accept that the rules, in the little space that was available for a small expansion, do not cover all possible cases and you have to rule such cases as they come. In this case, my verdict would be "no" because in reality they would tell you some interesting things in very clear words if you would try to use the ambulance as a lorry. But by all means play by the word of the rules and allow it, nothing wrong with that.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.