3 Posts

Atlantis Rising» Forums » Sessions

Subject: First play: 2 experienced gamers and 1 complete newbie rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Neises
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
On vacation with my wife and her parents. Decided to break out Atlantis to play with my wife and her mother with the prophetic words, "I've heard it's a hard one to win".

SET UP
Set up of the game was very easy, in fact the instructions were so good, the comment was made "this is better than a puzzle" while putting together the game board. The walk through of the order of play was very easy and clear to understand. What was unclear was how do we actually complete the "device" that saves Atlantis? We decided to just jump in and learn by doing.

GAME PLAY
The board is very well laid out, and anyone who has played a worker placement game, or even Settlers should be able to decipher the actions on each tile and get playing quickly. Mom didn't quite know how to proceed with some of the actions not realizing that you must first acquire (ore) the black cubes before converting them to (atlantium) the grey cubes. However, after about 5 turns it all made sense, and the second play through should be fine.

A FEW TURNS IN
After playing a few rounds we basically decided to completely allow a few sections of the island to flood. Poor decision. We basically abandoned the idea of gaining 'knowledge' cards for later actions because we were so focused on the resource collecting. This I think proved to be a bad choice, but ignorance was bliss for at least 5 minutes before we realized our terrible mistake and then had to live with it the rest of the game.

WHAT DO YOU MEAN HALF THE BOARD FLOODS?