Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

A Castle for All Seasons» Forums » Rules

Subject: Palas, Silver and Forge question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard L
Australia
Woy Woy
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In our first game last night we had a player that had a helper in the Palas and the Forge.

At the end of the game he had 4 stones and 2 silver.

He converted one silver to a stone to get the maximum of 5 stones for scoring his helper in the Palas.

Can he convert his last piece of silver (even though he has already maxed out his Palas score) to increase his Forge helper's score?


We ended up saying no on this basis:

1. the conversion of silver is for scoring the Palas helper
2. maximum score for this helper had already been reached
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
VonKrumm wrote:
In our first game last night we had a player that had a helper in the Palas and the Forge.

At the end of the game he had 4 stones and 2 silver.

He converted one silver to a stone to get the maximum of 5 stones for scoring his helper in the Palas.

Can he convert his last piece of silver (even though he has already maxed out his Palas score) to increase his Forge helper's score?


We ended up saying no on this basis:

1. the conversion of silver is for scoring the Palas helper
2. maximum score for this helper had already been reached


I would say of course he can make two trades in the Forge. There is no rule that says you must use your current supply of resources before you can use the forge. It simply says you can use up to 5 to score points, and if you want to convert silver you can.

For his 5 in the Palace he's allowed, he can use his 2 silver, and 3 of his current stone.

It's just 1 extra point for him, so it's not like this is an overpowering move.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lloyd
United Kingdom
Camden
London
flag msg tools
badge
This game is bullshit.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can convert silver at any time when using the resource you exchange it for to build or when scoring the Palace.

Edit: Clarification following a conversation in another post.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard L
Australia
Woy Woy
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the advice, Steve and Lloyd. thumbsup

We'll play it like that from now on.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.