Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Blocks in the East» Forums » Rules

Subject: Armor Exploitation and Supply rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
If armor units during armor exploitation move so that they are out of supply, do they get the white barrel...and then surrender at the Final Supply Status Phase of the Opponent's turn if still out of supply? Or can they hang around until the Final Supply Status Phase of the Phasing Player's next turn before checking for surrender?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Greg,

the second option is the right one.

Surrender "Phase" happens before Exploitation phase.

Anything else, I'm right back.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erich von Manstein
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Playing with the advanced rules:

The german tank runs out of supply and has to surrender.
Does the Soviets get 1 yellow PP and 1 red PP for the surrendering tank?
Or just 1 yellow PP?

Thx for ur help!

Ciao, ciao laugh
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Both.

If a Leader surrenders, he grants 1 Yellow and 1 OIL PP.

If an Armor surrenders it grants 1 Yellow and 1 Red PP.

If an Aircraft surrenders (very rare) it grants 1 Yellow and 1 Blue PP.

ALL THE BEST

emanuele
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike rosberg
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding armor exploitation into a hex containing an air unit; the Armor Exploitation Phase rules (7.10) state that a unit may not move into a hex that would result in combat...then makes a blanket statement saying 'cannot enter a hex containing an enemy unit'

"Supplied armor units move normally, exactly as during the Movement Phase, by using their full Movement Points. However, they must not start new combats and thus cannot enter a hex containing an enemy unit.
Then remove the white barrels (if any)."

Rule 7.7.5 includes a note on airbases stating that if the phasing player has a GU enter an airbase hex with only an air unit on the ground, that air unit must immediately evacuate the base.

So...is it legal for an armor unit to exploit an enemy airfield if it contains a lone air unit? It won't result in combat, but there is an enemy unit in the hex prior to the armor entering.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Mike and thanks for joining.

In the easiest possible way I would say that:

Exploiting Units may not enter an enemy occupied hex.

Behind the concept is that players generally use the Fog of War so it is not possibile to know the identity of enemy units (withour ar recon) before combat resolution.

The rule abaout airbase "overrun" is applied during the combat resolution.

I believe we have clarified this conceot in the new rules manual with BLOCKS IN AFRIKA, but anything I can do please just ask.

ALL THE BEST

emanuele
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike rosberg
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good point on the fog of war Emanuele.

and thanks for the quick reply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.