Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Couple of rules questions/clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob L
msg tools
1) If a basestar is in play and a crisis card has the activate heavy raider symbol on it but no heavy raiders are in play does one get launched?

2) when a raider moves towards civilian ships, is it always clockwise or say there is a raider in front of Galactica and a civilian ship in the first section under Galactica, would the raider move there or the first section above Galactica?

3) I'm pretty sure I understand this from the rule book but would just like clarification. During a skill check you can play any color card, not just the ones needed to pass? This is how a cylon player would affect a skill check correct?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hendrik R
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
1. Yes, each Basestar launches a Heavy Raider in that case. If there is a Centurion on the Boarding Track, no Heavy launches

2. Raiders move towards the nearest civilian ship. If that is ambiguous, they move clockwise. So in your example, the Raider would move towards the Civilian

3. Correct, you can play any card from your hand. That's the fun of it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Centurion movement does not stop basestars from launching new heavy raiders.

Edit: Removed bad paste from UFAQ.

See the Unofficial FAQ: http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Battlestar_Galactica_FAQ#... (scroll down a little to see a question all about heavy raiders).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
Singapore
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb

1. is incorrect. If there are Basestars and Centurions on the board (but no Heavy Raiders), Centurions move and Basestars also launch a Heavy Raider.

EDIT: ninjaninjaninja
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Furunkel wrote:
1. Yes, each Basestar launches a Heavy Raider in that case. If there is a Centurion on the Boarding Track, no Heavy launches
This is incorrect. Per the rules from the Base Game on page 24:

Quote:
When centurions from a heavy raider board Galactica, that heavy raider is removed from the game board, and a centurion token is placed on the start space of the Boarding Party track. Whenever there are any centurion tokens on the Boarding Party track and heavy raiders are activated (even by a revealed Cylon player), each centurion token moves one space towards the “Humans Lose” space. If a centurion token reaches the end of the track, then the Cylons win the game.

The human players can attempt to destroy centurions by activating the “Armory” location on the game board.

If there are no heavy raiders on the game board when heavy raiders are activated, one heavy raider is launched from each basestar. If there are no basestars, heavy raiders, or centurions on the game board, then nothing happens.


If there are no heavy raiders (regardless if there are Centurions or not), one heavy raider will launch from each Basestar.


EDIT: Super ninja-ed. But, I did at least quote the core rulebook! =D
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hendrik R
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
You never stop learning! Thanks to the lovely ninja triplet
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob L
msg tools
Thanks guys much appreciated. I must have missed that part in the rules about the heavy raiders
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob L
msg tools
Another question on heavy raiders. When they move, they go directly towards a viper launch section taking the shortest route towards it? So if a heavy raider starts at the front of Galactica, when it is activated it will move into the bottom section where the launch is?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hendrik R
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
That is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.