Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Wars: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: X-Wing Escort Interrupts Devastator rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nicholas Leeman
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just came up in a game:

Dark Side attacks with Devastator, and LS defends with X-Wing escort. DS wins the edge battle. 2 question emerge:

1) Can the dark side opt to not assign unit damage to XWE, therefore not destroying it?

2) If they cannot, at what point must Devastator be removed from the game (assuming no other vehicles are in play)?

Ruling on the field- we decided that the DS player cannot opt to not assign damage, and that since XWE's ability is an interrupt, the Devastator assigns damage to the card, it leaves, taking Devastator with it before it could do any blast damage to the objective.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmie Andersson
Sweden
Malmö
Skåne
flag msg tools
badge
Uuurrh! I let him in, uuuhh, was that not cool? Arrrarrh...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you choose which type of icons to use first, so if you choose object damage first you don't explode until you kill stupid X-wings, but you have to do it (IIRC).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Felipe Lopez
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Interesting scenario. The rules look clear on whether there is an option of striking or not:

Page 20 under Resolved Strikes:
"A player does not have the option to pass during this step. If he has at least one ready participating unit, it must focus to strike."

As for when the Devastator is removed is up to LS in this case. Page 21 at the top:
"The striking player decides the order in which he resolved the combat icon types on his striking card."

An adept player here would then strike with blast damage, followed by a suicidal unit damage.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Blakeney
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Now that's how you punch a hole in that stinky, filthy Devastator.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Vecstric
Sweden
Malmö
Skåne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not having an option to pass on dealing damage in a conflict has made me loose a game due to Probe Droid.
"No, I don't want to strike! I got blasterdamage which will kill your Probe Droid! And your stupid droid will blow up my objective and I loose! I don't wanna! I don't! cry "
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.