Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Catan: Seafarers» Forums » Rules

Subject: is this ship placement legal? (with picture) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
banjo catan
Canada
flag msg tools
in the FAQ section at catan it states

"You may always build on the inner edge of the frame but never on the outer edge. On the frame itself, building is only possible at certain places"

so with the image attached, would this be an legal ship placement? the images on the rule book shows lines but the actual frame shows no line.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
banjoken wrote:
in the FAQ section at catan it states

"You may always build on the inner edge of the frame but never on the outer edge. On the frame itself, building is only possible at certain places"

so with the image attached, would this be an legal ship placement? the images on the rule book shows lines but the actual frame shows no line.
I play with a PC version that uses Mayfair 3e (Sea3d) and there, it was NOT a legal placement.

IIRC, the PC version that uses 4e ($25, includes all 3 exp) also counts that is NOT legal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jörg Baumgartner
Germany
Kiel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Those edges (which are marked in the German version of the tile) are clearly not on the outer edge of the frame.

Since that corner hex has been redone as completely functional pasture hex in Catan: Explorers & Pirates, there is a precedent that this hex can be used in this way.

In the official PC game, the frame doesn't even appear - instead you have completely functional water hexes all around, and the outsides of the outermost hexes can be used for ship lines.


Has anybody else noticed that you could combine two or more of these corner parts to create a vertical border? This might be an interesting frame alternative for people owning both E&P and Seafarers, or multiple copies of Seafarers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reiner Dr. Düren
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is only one place where no ships are not allowed:



Dr. Reiner Düren
Catan GmbH

PS: Sea3d is not a licenced online game and therefore the rules used there are not official.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RedPiranha wrote:
PS: Sea3d is not a licenced online game and therefore the rules used there are not official.
FWIW, the dev does his research to ensure Kosmos, 3e rules were being followed. When a user pointed out any rules that were being implemented incorrectly, it would fixed to whatever the official ruling would be.


Also worth noting is that the frame for 3e and 4e are different, so that may throw the question a bit off.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.