Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

De Poorters van Nieuwstad» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few rules questions and clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bart de Vos
Netherlands
Groningen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As the rules are relatively unclear about some things and omitted other important aspects I just wanted to check a few things.

1. The Black Death (Zwarte Dood) event states that owners of buildings in the city lose 1 point per building. I take it that only means buildings built in the city quarters and not those built in the outer regions? For instance, I would lose 1 point for the timber trade ('houthandel' yellow building, built within the confinements of the city), but I would not lose a point for the sawmill ('houtzagerij', built in the outer regions). Is that correct?

2. I take it that the church (kerk) prevents all events from happening? So if the church is built, both the negative events (Vikings/Black Death/Crusades) and the positive events (small and big baby boom) are ignored. Is that right?

3. When taking a forest tile in the 1st preparatory round, you are not allowed to take a tile located on a city space (so excl. outer regions) which is not directly located next to the market or does not have a clear path towards the market, right? (The wording is a bit unclear in the rules which you could interpret as being allowed to take a tile which is next to a revealed outer region but not connected to the market).

4. Are you allowed to choose the Steward (Rentmeester) when you don't have any houses yourself (this could happen if you haven't built one ever, or (more likely) when your only house has just been burnt down due to someone playing a fire card)) ? The rules say '1 extra victory point', which seems to suggest you need to get victory points to start with in order to get the extra VP. I take it you can still choose the Steward (silly as it may be) even if it only gives you the 1 VP for choosing it?

5. I seem to recall reading the answer to this question on a different forum, but I'll pose it here again (for those less fluent in Dutch). In the example on page 6 about correct tile placement concerning stone-to-stone and sand-to-sand alignment, one building (the upside down house) is placed with its sand-side next to the market which shows a stone side. This is false, right? A building built next to the market should always be built with its stone side connecting to the market. Correct? Might be important to change this in the updated rules to avoid confusion and to state specifically that the market is surrounded by stone.

6. When you choose the sherrif (Schout), you first get the 1 florin from the bank and can use this immediately to buy an action card even when otherwise you would not have been able to buy it (when you start the phase with 0 florins) right? The rules don't spell it out, but the example on page 9 seems to suggest that you can. Similarly, when picking the trader, you first get a florin that you can immediately use to make use of another person's building, right?

7. It is not all that likely to happen, but what if a person runs out of their dark-coloured seals? Is a player only allowed to build a maximum of 4 of the specialist buildings (sawmill, timber trade, butcher, bakery, fish monger, inn)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralf Van Kempen
Netherlands
Geldrop
Noord Brabant
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I didn't write the goals but read them quite well whilst writing the reviews. Here are the answers IMHO.
1. Correct.
2. That's what the rules say. (although I believe you should allow the good things to happen).
3. It isn't speciefied what's meant by the phrase "open area. ("open gebied"). According to the rest of the sentence you would suspect they mean "open area within the city limits".
4. I believe this is possible. It says 1 extra. So instead of "0" you get "1".
5. I think it's a misprint which wasn't changed in the second edition rules shake
6. We've played it otherwise. We've giving the extra florin AFTER the turn, so it couldn't be used to buy cards or trade. The rules aren't clear on that.
7. nice one. It's not in the rules either.

Seems there's need for a third edition of the rules of this "perfect game".....
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart de Vos
Netherlands
Groningen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RalfvanKempen wrote:

6. We've played it otherwise. We've giving the extra florin AFTER the turn, so it couldn't be used to buy cards or trade. The rules aren't clear on

Seems there's need for a third edition of the rules of this "perfect game".....


6. Check the example om page 9. There it seems like you would first get the privilege and can then do the action.


And here's another two:
8. What happens when the forest tiles run out. Are you still allowed to choose the lumberjack to get a wood from its privilege (and a bonus from the hunter's lodge and/or forest hut)? Or is the role removed from the game? The rules don't mention it.

9. When negotiating the construction of a community building, what's the least someone has to contribute to make it count as shared building (which is required)? Is it allowed for one player to just point to the location of where the church will be built and ask for 2 points, whereas the other player pays all 10 wood and 10 florins and gets 15 points? The rules suggest that you can use the location in your negotiation, so would this be allowed? And even stronger, would it be allowed to just decide where to build and pay all the cost yourself and only give a point away to another player, which technically makes him part of the negotiations and made him part of the building process?
The rules seem to suggest everything goes, so it's all up to the players to decide what they want to contribute for points, if anything at all.

I'd like to know what is allowed and what is not. The rules don't talk about this at all.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pieter Syroit
Netherlands
Geldrop
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3. It says next to the market or an open field (all ready taken tile). I assume also next to a open area next to the outer area.

6. I just read that part in the 2.0 rules . There it isn't specified. I don't know how it was in the first rules. As Ralf said, we plaid that you get the coin at the end. (Ralf and I played it twice together).
The same for the merchant. (Handelaar)
In the example you get it first, but then they have to put it first in the rules, not as last part.

7. I think you are lucky if you can even built 4 of them, although in a 2 player game it can be different.
If you run out of light seals, you may not built, so I assume it is the same with the dark ones.

8. It doesn't say that you may not choose this action, so you could still do the action and get only your privilege, 1 wood.

9. I think someone has to contribute one item (money, wood, ...).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart de Vos
Netherlands
Groningen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Syroit wrote:
3. It says next to the market or an open field (all ready taken tile). I assume also next to a open area next to the outer area.


Technically, you are right, that is what it says. However, I don't think that's what they meant. It should have been:
Deze [bostegel] moet zich in het buitengebied (het
platteland) bevinden, of in de stad direct grenzen aan de Markt of via een open gebied aan de Markt grenzen.

In English:
The forest tile has to be in the outer regions, or it has to either directly be next to the market, or there must be a clear path (open area) between the tile taken and the market.

It seems to make more sense this way as you're then building a city around a market, in stead of being able to construct separate small cities.


Quote:
6. I just read that part in the 2.0 rules . There it isn't specified. I don't know how it was in the first rules. As Ralf said, we plaid that you get the coin at the end. (Ralf and I played it twice together).
The same for the merchant. (Handelaar)
In the example you get it first, but then they have to put it first in the rules, not as last part.


I completely agree. The example should only show how it works, not introduce extra rules that were not mentioned earlier.

Quote:

7. I think you are lucky if you can even built 4 of them, although in a 2 player game it can be different.
If you run out of light seals, you may not built, so I assume it is the same with the dark ones.


I get your reasoning, but I doubt that. The 7 light seals (8 in a 2-player game) are a restriction on how much you can build. It seems silly to also have a restriction on what you can build. It seems like it's more of a design choice where they expect it's unlikely you would run out of these and estimated 4 would be enough.

Quote:
8. It doesn't say that you may not choose this action, so you could still do the action and get only your privilege, 1 wood.

True, but on the role card it says "cut down a forest lot". If you can't do what it says on the role card, do you still get the privilige, which is 'an additional wood'? As an example: You don't get 'an additional good (fish/cattle/wheat)' if you don't produce one in the first place. How is this different?

Quote:
9. I think someone has to contribute one item (money, wood, ...).


I guess that is the most likely explanation and probably the correct one: The rules literally say: "Blauwe gebouwen zijn gemeenschapsgebouwen, die gezamenlijk moeten worden gebouwd en betaald. De spelers kunnen over alles onderhandelen: betalingsverdeling, puntenverdeling, locatie, enzovoort."

"Blue buildings are communal buildings that have to be constructed and paid for collectively (by at least 2 people). Players can negotiate about everything: who pays what, who gains what amount of points, what location it should be build at, etc.

It doesn't literally say that the minimum for being considered taking part in construction is paying 1 wood or florin, but I guess the part about 'gezamenlijk betaald' implies that you have to at least take part in the payment.

This should have been spelled out much clearer though with an example or two of what goes and what's not allowed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pieter Syroit
Netherlands
Geldrop
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I get your points also.
We, Roll The Dice, organise also some Dutch Championships, if something isn't clear, we follow the rules literaly. In this case it would be a hard nut to crack.

General conclusion ... we need rulebook 3.0.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.