Popular Tags: [View All]
David Oldster
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Does every game play like "big initial push by the South, if that works, South wins, otherwise Union builds up and inevitably crushes the South"?

Or is there more variability in the game play and strategies so that it is a (relatively) even contest?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Poniske
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Is there replayability? Holy crap, you bet. I've been playing this for over ten years and the current game being played on-line by Nik and Gordon contains moves and situations I've never seen before. I have said over and over and over, every game tells its own story. The characters do things that they might have done historically, but a completely historical game is VERY rare. In Lincoln's War everyone has a chance at being a hero, even timid or reluctant folks like Polk, Bragg, McClellan and Banks.

Oh and by the way, the BIO BRIEFS that were requested are coming along nicely. I have about 25 more to do and I'm thinking they will offer much to the story-telling aspect of the game, now that players have a better idea of what a character actually did in the war, the comparison to what happens in the game is a whole lot more interesting. Can't wait to share it with y'all.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Moore
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hmmm . . .
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Windsor
United States
Fort Worth
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
How has the "turtle" strategy fared for the South? Can the South let the Northern forces come to them in the hopes that Northern will simply breaks?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon J
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Print and Play Gamer
mbmbmbmbmb