Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Heavy Laser Cannon with Mercenary Co-pilot rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Gallant
Canada
Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does heavy laser cannon happen before the co-pilots ability or after? Ie. does one trump the other?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Creed Buhallin
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The HLC's conversion triggers off dice rolled, so it goes off immediately. The Mercenary Copilot is activated during the Change Results step, later.

So the HLC converts all crits to hits, but you can then use the Mercenary Copilot to change a hit to a crit.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Huhtala
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Along those same lines, can't Marksmanship also give you a crit with the HLC? (Provided you rolled at least one eyeball). This would work great with Kath Scarlet, as you could give her a gunner and possibly cause the target ship to get two stress tokens...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Creed Buhallin
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Brian1981 wrote:
Along those same lines, can't Marksmanship also give you a crit with the HLC? (Provided you rolled at least one eyeball). This would work great with Kath Scarlet, as you could give her a gunner and possibly cause the target ship to get two stress tokens...

Correct on all counts.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Buhallin wrote:
Brian1981 wrote:
Along those same lines, can't Marksmanship also give you a crit with the HLC? (Provided you rolled at least one eyeball). This would work great with Kath Scarlet, as you could give her a gunner and possibly cause the target ship to get two stress tokens...

Correct on all counts.


Except for the parts about it (a) working with Gunner (I think you meant Mercenary Copilot) and (b) working "great." It depends on rolling at least one hit and at least one Eye so you can convert to two criticals after resetting all your criticals to hits. That's a maximum of 2 criticals, bu often you'll only score one. I'd rather go with Marksmanship and Gunner with primary weapon than Mercenary Copilot and HLC on Kath.

*edit* I misunderstood. Marksmanship + Gunner is a viable combo with Kath that can result in two (or more) cancelled crits. I thought we were still talking about HLC and Merc Copilot (with Marksmanship)... Which will work some of the time but it probably isn't worth the points you're putting into it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Creed Buhallin
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I was sticking to the rules

You could certainly use HLC+Marksmanship+Gunner or HLC+Marksmanship+Merc with Kath, and all would function appropriately. The second shot with the Gunner would have to be with the primaries, but Marksmanship would still be active for it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert M.
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Brian1981 wrote:
Along those same lines, can't Marksmanship also give you a crit with the HLC? (Provided you rolled at least one eyeball). This would work great with Kath Scarlet, as you could give her a gunner and possibly cause the target ship to get two stress tokens...

I also wouldn't go with "great" as the adjective, but this does work.

1) Attack with the HLC.

2) The HLC's text activates, and you immediately change all [crit] results to [hit] results.

3) Marksmanship's text activates, and you change the first [focus] result to [crit], and the rest to [hit]. (For the sake of argument, you generate exactly one [crit].)

4) You miss (again for the sake of argument), but that means your target necessarily canceled a [crit] result; that activates Kath's text and causes your target to take a stress token.

5) The Gunner's text activates, and you make a primary weapon attack.

6) Marksmanship's text activates, and you change the first [focus] result to [crit], and the rest to [hit]. (Again, suppose you generate exactly one [crit].)

7) You miss a second time, which means your target canceled a [crit] result, again triggering Kath's ability and causing the target to take a second stress token.

***

The main problem with this is that the HLC link is both expensive and entirely unnecessary. It actually reduces your likelihood of rolling a critical hit when attack with it (it's 76% with just Gunner and Marksmanship, and 68% with the HLC), and it also reduces the likelihood that you'll "get" to make a second attack using the Gunner.

Kath and the HLC just don't play nicely together except in the presence of a Mercenary Co-pilot, which you can't do with a Gunner aboard.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.