BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Love Lords of Waterdeep--now what? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: popcorn [+] [View All]
Rori Lee
msg tools
mb
Hello!
I'm new to BGG and modern board games (altho I had all the standard roll 'n go junk as a kid of the 70's & 80's)

I recently got Lords of Waterdeep on the recommendation of Joel Eddy and others who love the game. **I have to add here that I think this game has one of the BEST rule books ever printed--concise, clear, easy to read and understand, AND pretty to boot!**

My question is--if I ADORE this game, what next?

Thanks!!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
Canada
Pickering
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The expansion comes out in August
Scoundrels of Skullport
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you are new to modern games then I suggest slowly expanding your horizons by experimenting with new mechanics.
Lords of Waterdeep is primarily a worker placement mechanic. Look into other types of games...when I first discovered games, my goal was to explore each mechanic and decide what I liked best.

my suggestions are all traditional stalwarts of the industry

Puerto Rico- Action Selection mechanic
El Grande - Tough to nail down a mechanic, but auction/selection
Ra - Pure Auction
Tigris & Euphrates - Tile Laying...hybrid...awesomeness

and I will catch some flak for this one
Small World - Area Control
I recommend this one because waterdeep is a fantasy setting, as is smallworld. Smallworld is a pretty good game, we wore out our copy..but there are a lot of haters out there.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M M
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Step 1: Buy custom Waterdeep meeples ([thread=807557]DnDeeples[/thread])

Step 2: Pre-Order Waterdeep expansion