Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Panzer (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: 7.25 Weapon Malfunction rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brent Pollock
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had a T-34 M43 have its weapon go 'permanently out of action' as per 7.25 so now 'it may not fire again'.

We played this as:
6.2.1.1 - No change. It is still active and is not considered unarmed.

6.5.4.3 & 6.6.10 - Despite having a Coax MG, it still may neither perform GP Direct Fire nor Overrun.

Any other interpretations?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger McKay
Canada
Bedford
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
WBRP wrote:
We had a T-34 M43 have its weapon go 'permanently out of action' as per 7.25 so now 'it may not fire again'.

We played this as:
6.2.1.1 - No change. It is still active and is not considered unarmed.

6.5.4.3 & 6.6.10 - Despite having a Coax MG, it still may neither perform GP Direct Fire nor Overrun.

Any other interpretations?


I am not an expert, but I believe GP fire consists mainly of the main gun firing HE rounds. I know there are some small arms vehicles, but this represents the majority.

If the majority of GP power comes from HE rounds, then it makes some sense to prevent GP fire altogether. Perhaps the units should have had an MG row as well? A design choice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Day
United States
Ellicott City
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WBRP wrote:
We had a T-34 M43 have its weapon go 'permanently out of action' as per 7.25 so now 'it may not fire again'.

We played this as:
6.2.1.1 - No change. It is still active and is not considered unarmed.

6.5.4.3 & 6.6.10 - Despite having a Coax MG, it still may neither perform GP Direct Fire nor Overrun.

Any other interpretations?


Yes, you got it. Since the coax is not modeled separately from the standard GP weapon, it can't fire if the main gun is out of action.

The vehicles with two distinct weapons, e.g., S-14A OT-34 M42, could still combat with the remaining weapon.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.