Allen Evenson
United States
Kent
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, we just started playing and got into a big argument about the end of the game (we were playing 3 with three but the situation could apply to two also):

Premise:
The last vacant board hex was filled, while all players still had tiles in their draw piles (decks).

My understanding is that the game does not end and a battle does not happen at this point. Play continues until a player has no tiles left to draw and fills the last unoccupied space, or places the last tile from his 'hand' when he has no tiles left draw). In the case of the former; a battle commences, the rest of the players get to play any remaining tiles (without drawing) and then a Final battle commences. In the latter case, the other players get a final turn and then the Final battle commences.

I have done some looking and apologies if this question has already been answered - it would be great if someone could point to an official FAQ that answers the question. Many Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Goch
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you fill the last vacant hex on the board a battle begins immediately. You resolve the battle (which will inevitably leave many open spaces) and then continue placing tiles where you left off.

You can find that on page 3 of the rule book at the end of the "using tiles" section.

Quote:
If at any time during the game the board is filled up and no single space is left to place a tile on, a Battle commences (see BATTLES section).


The Final Battle only begins when one player has drawn his last tile. He finishes his turn and then the other players finish their turns and then final battle begins.

This is also on page 3 in the "ending the game" section.

Quote:
If any of the players draws his last tile from the deck, he can finish his turn. Then the opposing player finishes his and the Final Battle begins.
When any of the players has drawn his last tile, Battle tiles cannot be used.
If a player has used his last tile and filled in the last unoccupied hex on the board a Battle starts. Then, after the Battle the opposing player can use his remaining tiles and the Final Battle begins.



and in the multiplayer rules on page 8

Quote:
- The Final Battle: If any of the players draws his last tile from the pile, the others complete their own turns as usual, and only then does the Final Battle start.





8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Brown
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mb
I think the turn also ends if you begin a battle, so if you keep a battle tile and another tile, you don't get to use the second tile after the battle is resolved.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laurence Parsons
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
Old enough to know what's right
badge
Young enough not to choose it
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
During the game, two things can trigger a battle:
1A player plays a Battle tile, or
2A player places a tile in the last vacant hex.
Once the battle is resolved, that turn ends and play passes to the next player.

When a player draws his last tile, that will trigger the final round of play. Everyone will get one final turn. Nobody can now play a battle tile, but a battle may be triggered by a player placing a tile in the last vacant hex.

Once the last player has taken his final action, the Final Battle is triggered.
5 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Evenson
United States
Kent
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! The first quoted rule reference clears up our confusion. Very much appreciated!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.