Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Star Wars Customizable Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules regarding characteristics rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
kyle Jordan
msg tools
So when a character says that it is a spy, or thief, or scout, and so on. Are there automatically special rules that apply to those characteristics?

For instance,

thief-During your control phase, may target one device at same site. Draw destiny. If destiny < target's destiny number, it is 'stolen.' (this is the merc sunlet text)

scout-That warrior may move to an adjacent site as a 'react.'

spy-may deploy at location without presence, and prevents all force drains at same location.(paraphrased)

and so on.

So would smugglers, bounty hunters, leaders, and others have special rules as well?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Smith
United States
Jackson
MS
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some have special rules that apply (like those you just mentioned) but some do not. Some characteristics are referenced in the game text of other cards. An example would be something like "when with a leader in battle then X". There were a few that it took a long time to do much with. If I remember correctly, there was an information broker characteristic in Premiere that went a long time without having anything that referenced it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Lernout
Canada
Kitchener
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Characteristics with rules attached:

Heroic (Virtual sets only) - if this is a legal target for a weapon fired in battle, it must be targeted if not already 'hit'.

Operative - A whole mess of rules became attached to these guys after their arrival dominated the game due to being truly broken designs.

Only counts as a characteristic for cards with "Operative" as part of their card title. Their matching planet is the planet in their card title. (i.e. "Kiffex Operative" matches the planet Kiffex). You cannot deploy or move an operative to a matching planet where you already have one. If somehow two end up at the same matching planet location, you have to choose and make one lost. They don't apply ability towards battle destiny on their matching planet, nor can they control a matching planet location alone (although they occupy it if alone)

Spy - Can be deployed to a location where you do not have presence or force icons. Also allows simultaneous deployment with other cards when allowed (i.e. as a pilot of an unpiloted ship or vehicle).

No other characteristics come with inherent rules (this includes thief and scout). As Stephen mentions, many characteristics are merely there to be referenced by other card or rules.

Examples - Undercover can only be played on spies. Blast the Door, Kid! excludes leaders from combat. Scouts in search parties attempting to locate missing characters receive a bonus.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kyle Jordan
msg tools
thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.