BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » GeekBay

Subject: Auction Etiquette rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shawna
United States
flag msg tools
badge
You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.
[Disclaimer: I apologize if this is not the best place for posting this question. I just started using the site a few months ago, and I'm still learning. Please forgive me.]

This is mainly directed at subscribers to the auction MetaList, but all users are welcome to weigh in:

A couple days ago, I commented on someone's auction that one of their games was available for $20 cheaper on Amazon and with free shipping. I was quickly called out by another user for not private messaging that person and told what I did was in bad form and disrespectful. In the end, we all mutually agreed to delete our comments. I've now seen two more individuals do this same thing, and nobody has batted an eye about it. So are there other opinions on this issue? Is it EVER okay to question someone's pricing publicly?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BoardGameCo
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
On my own auctions I won't call someone out on it but on others I will.
Personally I think it's frowned upon but to be honest I see both sides of the issue.

On the one hand, if someone is overcharging, is it fair to other geeks to not make them aware you can get it cheaper? On the other hand, who are you to publicly shout out that others can obtain something cheaper elsewhere? To put it in another format; would you ever walk into a store and in front of the owner point out to all the other customers where they can get those items cheaper? Because it's exactly the same thing when you publicly post that a price is higher. If you think the auctioneer is unaware of fair pricing, geekmail him/her.