Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Axis & Allies 1941» Forums » Rules

Subject: Transport conducting an amphibious assault vs enemy submarines rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Konstantinos Liolios
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
Hello guys, I need a small clarification over here. The rulebook on page 13 under the "Transport" topic instructs that: "However, a transport cannot ignore enemy submarines to offload land units for an amphibious assault unless at least one warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase." So, what I get from this - when a lone transport is going to conduct an amphibious assault and the sea zone contains enemy submarines, you cannot ignore them and your transport is automatically destroyed. Unless, there's an attacking warship (battleship, destroyer, aircraft carrier, submarine [which still counts as a warship]) in the same sea zone at the end of the combat move phase, only then the transport(s) can ignore enemy submarines and proceed to the offloading of the land units. Am I correct? Thanks in advance people!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Almost correct. The transport indeed can't ignore the sub without an attacking warship, but attacking transports are never defenseless (automatically destroyed) unless they can't retreat. Assuming your unescorted transport can retreat, it would have to endure one round of defensive fire from the sub before it could do so. In any case, it could never successfully pull off the amphibious assault, as it's impossible for it to eliminate the sub and clear the sea zone. As a result, such a move is completely suicidal.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Liolios
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
That "transport retreat" move eluded from my mind! Thanks man, I'll note your sayings down, very useful stuff.

Edit: In other words, the "unescorted amphibious assault" move is a complete waste of money and manpower. ninja
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Liolios
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
We played our first game tonight, and it was awesome! It took us 6 hours to finish it though! ninja
This question was raised when I was explaining this particular situation about the "lone transport trying to offload/conduct an amphibious assault in a submarine-infested sea zone", which is suicidal (as Kevin described). Now, let's say you are on your combat move phase, and you want to onload land units to conduct an amphibious assault afterwards. If there are enemy submarines (and no surface warships) in that particular sea zone where these land units are needed to be onloaded from, can you ignore the enemy submarines and onload the land units? And then move and conduct the amphibious assault? Or it counts as an "attack" and the enemy submarines destroy that "trying-to-onload-lone-transport" the same way they would destroy it as if it was trying to offload/conduct an assault? This question is kinda the same as my previous one in this post, but instead now the thing is that you want to ONLOAD land units for an amphibious assault, not OFFLAND them.
Reminder: Everything happens in the combat move phase, so a transport HAS TO conduct an amphibious assault.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Enemy subs never prevent you from loading transports.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Liolios
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
Krieghund wrote:
Enemy subs never prevent you from loading transports.


Thanks, you're the man!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.