Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: WHen attempting Coup do you resolve text on cards. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott O'Dell
United States
Nebraska
flag msg tools
mbmb
If I am the US player and I Play Warsaw Pact in a Coup attempt against Egypt do we still resolve the text? THe rule book doesn't explicitly say you do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alpha Mastrano
Australia
Heidelberg
Victoria, Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the event occurs.
A Coup attempt is an Operation (6.0), and events on opponent-associated cards are resolved when the cards are used for Operations (5.2), except for Space Race attempts (6.4.5).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, if you play your opponent's event for operations (e.g. a coup) the event happens. You do get to decide whether the event happens before or after the coup attempt though...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott O'Dell
United States
Nebraska
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks. My rulebook sucks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kiefte
Canada
Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PimpMario wrote:
Thanks. My rulebook sucks.


Paragraph 5.2, p. 5.

Quote:
Events Associated With Your Opponent: If a player plays a card as an Operation, and the card’s Event is associated only with his opponent, the Event still occurs (and the card, if it has an asterisk after the Event title, is removed).


Paragraph 6.0, p. 6

Quote:
Operations can be used in the following ways: to place your Influence makers, to make Realignment rolls, to attempt Coups, or to attempt advancement in the Space Race.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Hooper
United States
Rockford
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PimpMario wrote:
Thanks. My rulebook sucks.


3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.