Popular Tags: [View All]
Josh Chen
United States
Aliso Viejo
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
It is better to be late to the party than never, right? I am glad that I didn't miss this digging for treasure party and oh how I enjoyed my first 3 games of it! kiss

I got this game in a local trade that enabled me to dispose a game I will never play for this game. I've been eyeing this game for two months now and I am glad I did trade for it.

I've read almost every written reviews about this game on BGG. Tom Vasel's video review got me really excited about this game and I was so happy to bring it out for tonight's gaming session.

One of the strength of this game for me is that it is a perfect filler that is neither too long nor too short. My girlfriend and I do enjoy card fillers such as Lost Cities, Battle Line, and Jaipur. We played 3 games of Archaeology in about 70mins.

I started out the first game with only 4 sand storm cards even though we were only playing it with 2 players. It is because based on some of the written reviews that warned against the randomness dealing with too much sand storm card can mess up one's strategy to score big combos. So the first game went by pretty peacefully and I've won 70ish to 60ish. I actually think the act of reducing the sand storm cards is unnecessary. Without all 6 sand storm cards, I actually find the game a little lacking on the supposed "tension" on the flip of the card. Games such as Lost Cities, Jaipur, and Battle Line all give us plenty of tension on the flip. In my opinion, the sand storm card served this purpose well. It is also my humble opinion that, once getting used to the 6 sand storm cards, we really did plan our strategy around it. The rule that made sure that we can count the remaining thief and sand storm cards helped us plan for them a little bit more.