Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Ayu» Forums » Rules

Subject: A move which (briefly) splits and reunites a group is legal, right? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Just to confirm my understanding of the rule "All pieces which were joined in a single group before the move must remain joined after the move."...

In this situation:

. . . . . . .
. X X X X X .
. X . . . X .
. X X . X X .
. . . X . . .

Player X could pick up their upper middle stone of their upper large 11-stone group, temporarily splitting the group into 2 groups of 5 stones:

. . . . . . .
. X X . X X .
. X . . . X .
. X X . X X .
. . . X . . .

and then place the moved stone 2 spaces lower, connecting the large group to the singleton X which is one space away from the original group:

. . . . . . .
. X X . X X .
. X . . . X .
. X X X X X .
. . . X . . .

...Right?


FWIW, placing it southeast (for example) of that target point would clearly be illegal:

. . . . . . .
. X X . X X .
. X . . . X .
. X X . X X .
. . . X X . .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luis Bolaños Mures
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
russ wrote:
Just to confirm my understanding of the rule "All pieces which were joined in a single group before the move must remain joined after the move."...

In this situation:

. . . . . . .
. X X X X X .
. X . . . X .
. X X . X X .
. . . X . . .

Player X could pick up their upper middle stone of their upper large 11-stone group, temporarily splitting the group into 2 groups of 5 stones:

. . . . . . .
. X X . X X .
. X . . . X .
. X X . X X .
. . . X . . .

and then place the moved stone 2 spaces lower, connecting the large group to the singleton X which is one space away from the original group:

. . . . . . .
. X X . X X .
. X . . . X .
. X X X X X .
. . . X . . .

...Right?

Yes, that's right. A group can be momentarily split when a stone is picked, but placing the stone on the destination point must result in said group being joined again.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.