Ahh, you found me... Run!
1) do you get fame for recruiting units? I thought I saw mention of this in the faq but I can't find anything in the rules.
No, you do not.
2) There is a skill which allows you to discard a wound for a mana token. The wound goes into the discard deck correct? Do you get to draw another deed card to replenish? Can this be done any time?
Goes into discard pile, you do not get to draw a replacement, and it can be done during your own turn.
Welcome to BoardGameGeek, and what an excellent game you have selected as an opener.