Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Puzzle Strike (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reversal character chip question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ian Collier
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When used as a counter crash reaction, does the reversal chip allow the counter crash of a single chip back OR does it allow you to counter crash as many chips back as we're sent to you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rabid Schnauzer
msg tools
Reversal's reaction can only be used to Counter Crash, but when played, Reversal's reaction works exactly like a Crash gem.

Thus if you have no combined gems in your pile and you Reversal a [1]-gem send, Reversal negates the incoming gem and reduces your pile by one just like counter-crashing with a Crash gem. If you have previously combined to have a larger gem in your pile and you Reversal a [1]-gem send with that combined gem, then you negate the incoming gem, reduce your pile by removing that larger gem from it and send more gems back than were coming your way -- just like counter-crashing with a Crash gem.

Also if you use Reversal's reaction to counter-crash on your own turn (usually due to a counter-counter crash or an opponent using Improvisation reaction to Crash) you get the +$1, just like you would from playing a Crash gem on your own turn.



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
colin langton
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
Huh, I was going to dispute that last part, but I went to check and it says "play this as a crash gem." Never noticed that. Was it always like that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rabid Schnauzer
msg tools
Well, "always" gets sticky with some of the early playtest attempts -- if you go back far enough in development playing a Crash gem didn't "always" give +$1 -- but Reversal has been played "as a Crash gem" since first edition publication.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.