Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Here I Stand» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Carlstadt is a two-edged sword? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Perry
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I played a teaching game, starting from 1532 setup. We got as far as the end of Turn 4, and decided we'd learned enough by then. This is not a full session report, but just one small section: an odd turn of events...

Phillip of Hesse, with one Regular and two Mercenaries, puts Cologne under siege. Note that it contains no enemy troops, and is still Catholic.

Hapsburgs play Unpaid Mercenaries, reducing Phillip to one Regular.

Protestants play Treachery, taking the city.

Hapsburgs play Holy Roman Emperor, and bring Charles V, one Regular, and two Mercenaries from Brussels, through neutral Liege, to put the city under siege. (He might have brought more if he wasn't so worried about the English in Calais.)

At this point, the Protestants Publish a Treatise, hoping to turn Cologne and grab the single Regular from the Electorate display. They commit Carlstadt for a bonus attempt. We search the rulebook: does a force in a fortress, holding out against a siege, count as adjacent? We can't find any mention of it, so we decide it counts, and we move on.

The attempt in Munster fails anyway, adding an Unrest marker.
The attempt in Cologne fails as well, adding another Unrest marker.
The attempt way over in Regensburg succeeds easily. Nobody cares much.

Charles V now does not have LOC because Munster is in unrest! Carlstadt's supposed "disadvantage" was actually helpful.

We search the rulebook again: does a force under siege count as adjacent, for purposes of removing unrest or controlling unfortified spaces? We can't find any mention of it, but it just doesn't make sense. We eventually flip a coin, and decide that the force under siege is contained in the fortress and can't count as adjacent. Charles removes the unrest in Munster, while still standing in Cologne. He doesn't need to remove unrest from Cologne, so he tries his assault...

... and Protestants play Mercenaries Grow Restless, at which point the assault doesn't outnumber the defenders, and retreats immediately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Bentley
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fireflyz wrote:
Charles V now does not have LOC because Munster is in unrest! Carlstadt's supposed "disadvantage" was actually helpful.

I think you're seeing the true value of Carlstadt. 3 attempts is good, but placing unrest in critical paths to block LOC, Spring and Winter movement is even better.

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/4892032#4892032
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Kouba

Minnesota
msg tools
mbmb
Fireflyz wrote:
We search the rulebook again: does a force under siege count as adjacent, for purposes of removing unrest or controlling unfortified spaces? We can't find any mention of it, but it just doesn't make sense. We eventually flip a coin, and decide that the force under siege is contained in the fortress and can't count as adjacent.


I don't think it is in the rulebook, but in this thread (see question 4) Ed said that the force under siege would prevent the removal of unrest.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1918318#1918318
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.