Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Rise and Decline of the Third Reich» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attrition Retreat and Supply rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jersey Guys
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mb
Hello. Here's a less-common situation that we wanted to present for your consideration. A 4-6 German tank on D-46 in Russia is forced to retreat because the Russians have selected that hex as part of attrition. The only hex available for retreat is an empty Russian-controlled hex at C-46. B-46 is controlled by the Axis and Finland is an active minor ally.

Is the tank considered in supply at the beginning of the Axis turn even though he was moved into an enemy-controlled hex? He can trace supply through adjacent hex B-46 into Finland but does the fact that C-46 was enemy controlled before he retreated into it stop that? Is C-46 even still considered an enemy-controlled hex? There is no Russian ZOC involved so that isn't a factor in this case.

Thank you in advance for any thoughts, guidance.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E Butler
United States
Hughesville
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
27.22 A unit is in supply if it can trace a line of controlled hexes, free of enemy ZOC, between itself and a supply source.

So if there are no enemy ZOCs and the adjacent hex is friendly and can trace to a supply center the armor is in supply.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Bauer
United States
Reading
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Waste Water too
badge
Mid-Atlantic Air Museum
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the German unit is forced to retreat into a Russian hex, the hex becomes German controlled immediately per 7.1.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oh my God They Banned Kenny
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I agree, upon retreating into the vacant Russian controlled hex, the German unit would 'convert' the hex to German control and supply determination would be no different from the case where the German unit had moved into that hex.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.